We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dinghy Dock Marine Pub & Bstr

Dinghy Dock Marine Pub & Bstr
8 Pirates Lane, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6R1, Canada
(250) 753-2373
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 269 restaurants in Nanaimo
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great to visit on Protection Island via their small ferry boat - good food and great to walk around the tiny island when you are done

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    49
    79
    40
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo,BC,Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun Location, Predictable Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The sunsets are wonderful and the atmosphere godd. The location is what makes this a fun time. The food is typical pub grub, not terrible, but nothing new here. Very large portions to satisfy the large appetite. Don't forget the charge for the ferry, not too expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We've been to this pub several times over the years, but not consistently. We tend to stop for lunch before we head off the island on the ferry. We have often enjoyed their fish and chips, but the last time we ate there, we were dissappointed with the quality. It was okay, but not great. On the up side, being right on the water is spectacular and the staff are very welcoming and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“the little dock that did.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a neat expierence. You need to go by boat a short distance, from the Nanaimo harbor.Our meal consisted of sea food which added to the beautiful harbor view and the activity of boats going here and thereA must if you are visiting or living in that area.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Dinghy dock wins for location as it's exactly what it sounds like, a floating pub! The Patio is an amazing place to have some beverages on a sunny day, but the food leaves a lot to be desired. Your basic pub type fare, but really nothing that good. It's unfortunate because if the food was better I would be much more likely to make the little ferry over more often!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinghy Dock Marine Pub & Bstr also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Dinghy Dock Marine Pub & Bstr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinghy Dock Marine Pub & Bstr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.