We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7-nights of nature bliss; great food and gracious hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
4950 Fillinger Crescent | British Columbia, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9V 1H9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“7-nights of nature bliss; great food and gracious hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I came to Nanaimo to visit my ailing father in a long-term care home and my son and i stayed here and we LOVED IT! We wanted to see the view every day when we woke up and shared the honeymoon suite... Marilyn and Glenn put a nice bed in for my son, who slept right up again the window to the wonder of the eagles/sea lions/plentiful of deer/dolphins and the odd killer whale each morning - was simply awesome to wake up to it.

House and accommodations were perfect - simply perfect. Breakfast was to die for - we definitely gained weight and we don't care. OH, those waffles!!! Glenn makes so many types of Bread I gave up asking what was next cause it did not matter - we knew it would be delicious. He knows how to make great cappuccini. Punto. Marilyn was such a delight and I cannot say one flaw about her. She makes you laugh; is very well versed her what to do around the area; where to eat etc... I was really impressed. It felt like coming home to parents each night - they were so sweet and caring but respected privacy. My son (17yrs) really enjoyed their company and played a good game of pool with Glenn and his grandson. Leaving there was sad - I wanted to stay and be adopted :-)

I hope to return to them again when I visit my father for another stay. I know I will be taken care of.

All the rooms are gorgeous - very quiet at night - hot tub was superb. The room to watchTV was huge, comfortable and cozy. The nature captivating. Cathedral Grove is a must for anyone.

Thanks again Marilyn and Glenn - huge hugs from me and Luc :-)

Room Tip: For the view, size and in-room jacuzzi tub looking at the awesome view - Honeymoon suite.... but se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
80
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

All the wonderful things that people have to say about this spectacular B&B are true. The home, the rooms, the views, the food, but most importantly the hosts are all truly first class. We stayed here 2 nights in October as the final 2 nights of a 10 day vacation to B.C and the Rockies and this was the ultimate way to finish off an already remarkable trip. Thank you so much Marilyn and Glen for all your warmth and hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

From the moment we crested the hill on Fillinger and saw the Straits of Georgia and mainland B.C. in the background, we knew this was going to be a special few days.

But that was just the beginning. Marilyn and Glen were wonderful, friendly and knowledgeable hosts and their home was absolutely beautiful with a view to die for. Imagine sitting on the deck waiting for the sunset when a couple of deer pass through the backyard. Well that's just what happened.

Breakfasts were wonderfully innovative and healthy. Couldn't have been better.

I doubt that you could get a better B&B than this one!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Marilyn and Glen were so welcoming and it felt like we had known them for ever. The breakfast was to die for and they helped to share a 'couple' of bottles of wine at the end of the day. The rooms are very clean and well furnished but the Honeymoon suite was exceptional and contributed to the whole experience which just happened to be my birthday
Thank you folks xx

Room Tip: The Honeymoon suite is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

You will be treated to an experience of comfort, gleaming surroundings, and wonderful sunset views. Anything not at your fingertips the hosts will be more than happy to provide. There is a feeling of spaciousness about every room. The breakfasts are scrumptious and they are entirely flexible. We didn't have time for the breakfast on our final morning, so they packed us a hearty meal for the plane, complete with cutlery that passes security. Ask Glenn to prepare you a cappaccino as he is an expert with the machine - and don't pass up his homemade bread either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

MGM B & B is first class from tip to toe. Marilyn and Glen are gracious, helpful and fun; welcoming you into their home as though you are the most important guest they ever had. Their eye for style, quality and detail is evident, not only in the tasteful, simple lines of the building with its sunset views from every room but also in the little touches in the rooms like bathrobes, slippers, and a basket of lotions and oils. If you wander in the garden past a teapot display, garden sculptures, and Glens bonsai collection down the winding rock pathway to the ocean you might encounter three unconcerned island deer looking back at you, as we did. A variety of healthy home-made bread, wonderful cappuccinos and gourmet breakfasts with lots of fun conversation complete the perfection of this homestay experience. We would visit again and recommend this B & B to our friends

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a beautiful B & B in a beautiful setting. The view is outstanding even in bad weather. Marilyn and Glenn are such gracious hosts that made you feel completely at home. They want to make sure you have everything you need and are happy to share information about restaurants and sights in Nanaimo. We had a great time visiting with them, especially at breakfast. The food was bountiful and very good. Certainly a place we would return to if we were in the area. We have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4950 Fillinger Crescent | British Columbia, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9V 1H9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular oceanfront B&B in our modern executive home in north Nanaimo on Vancouver Island. All three rooms offer ocean view, decks with hot tub, a beach deck, with garden steps between. Included is an games/entertainment/sitting area, coffee/tea/cappuccino bar, fruit bowl and the famous Nanaimo Bar dessert, gourmet breakfasts, menu changes daily and caters to any dietary needs. Enjoy our smoke and pet free environment. We promise a memorable stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.