We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, value...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montana's Cookhouse

Montana's Cookhouse
4715 Rutherford Road, Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 282 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, value...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The four cheese spinach dip always a good bet firecracket burgers as well, generally good service too...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent on a Tuesday of you have kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

One child free with each adult on a Tuesday. Free kids meal on their birthday with fun icecream dish, 'horns' hat and birthday song from the servers. Makes the kids feel special :-) The menu is limited and not that exciting, but the food is always tasty and cooked really well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“good food not fake and pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had the Cookhouse Trio which consisted of a hearty chicken noodle soup, accompanied by a beef brisquet half sandwich and a small house salad. This was served up for $9 and 99 cents.
My wife and I split a Kapow shrimp appetizer. We found the shrimp to be not only plentiful but crispy coated and delicious.
They were relatively busy but service was still decent. We easily received our meals in time to enjoy them and make our way over to the neighbouring movie theatre.
You can get movie tickets for the Galaxie Theatre at the restaurant for a reduced rate.
All in all it was a positive experience that we would repeat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I go to Montana's cookhouse quite often. I like the "log house" atmosphere and I love their ribs. I used to order the salmon, which is quite good, but ever since trying the ribs, it's been hard to order anything else! My husband always orders a burger. The last time he ordered the Chipotle Firecracker Burger, and they were very accommodating when he requested chicken instead of beef - and he said it was one of the best burgers he's ever had! The staff are also nice and friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Best Chipolte burger i have ever had in my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I loved Montannas, very friendly staff, great food, nice to sit in the bar part and relax and have a meal, Great ribs

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana's Cookhouse also viewed

 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Montana's Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana's Cookhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.