We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOUD” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Original Joe's Restaurant & Bar

Original Joe's Restaurant & Bar
3280 North Island Highway, Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
250-585-1563
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 258 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“LOUD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It is a place for the younger crowd to hang out and the music is quite loud so if your hoping to have a nice quiet and relaxing dinner this is not the place. Its a place for the loud crowd. The food is great though

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    30
    15
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service - we'll be back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We visited this OJ's in mid-September 2013.

We (2 of us) found our experience to be excellent.

Our server was brand new (summer staff turn-over?) , & a wee bit nervous, however she was very attentive to our needs and did a great job.
We even commented to her that she was great at her job, especially for her first day.
During our conversation with her, she mentioned that when had received good training from management before starting. This was evident.

We like it when a server returns to check on us occasionally, without hovering ...
Timing here was good - no complaints at all.

It was warm enough - so we dined on the patio.
Our meals were fresh, & flavourful.

We are aged 45-55 - and we accept that restaurant night crowds are livelier, louder, than family places of yore...

We will definitely return to OJ's in Nanaimo, BC.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent food, high prices, not so friendly service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have been here a handful times and the food is good. However, I've gotten the same server with short hair twice, she was always cold and not friendly at all. I still tipped her well and she barely cracked a smile. I have not been back since. I also have had another server who was a lot more friendly. It really is hit and miss, you would expect a restaurant whose servers only have 2-4 tables, high customer service would be ensured. I know other restaurants whose servers have 6+ tables for their section ensuring high customer service.

It must be the atmosphere that goes here, snobby servers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food good, service not so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My review gives this restaurant 4 stars for it's food, we all agreed it was excellant, but the service was not up to par.  We enjoyed our meal but had to finally wave someone down to place another drink order.  After we received our meals it was very difficult to get attention.  Trying to achieve eye contact proved impossible.  Not sure if it was because they were busy or understaffed,or what???

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cold Food!!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Went to Original Joes for dinner with family. Don't waste your money. Everyone's fries were cold, vegetable cold and bread was stale for steak sandwich.steak was over cooked and bland. Fries were clumped together when new hot ones were brought to the table. Better places to eat than this.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Joe's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Original Joe's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Joe's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.