We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey...but good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old City Take Out

Old City Take Out
54 Prideaux Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 2M5, Canada
(250) 753-5454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 282 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Description: Delicious fish & chips, burgers and hot dogs at a family owned and operated take-out. Great reviews, a faithful following and happy customers attest to the quality and care of the products.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pricey...but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice little place. I heard it was nice so I have tried their fish and chips, burger...it was good as I heard and it was a bit pricey as I heard. Will be back though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is the best takeout in Nanaimo. The prices are higher, but you get what you pay for. The owners are really friendly as well. It's also great to be supporting Nanaimo's amazing downtown.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Ok, I guess”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had the cod dinner and a burger and fries. The batter on the fish was still a little doughy. The fries, although fresh made, were a little bland. The hamburger and fixin's were tasty, but sat on a tasteless whole wheat kaiser. Overall, ok, but not great. And definitely not cheap! This meal (with no drinks) was $25.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Best halibut & chips! I'm also a fan of the burgers. Pretty much all items on the menu are a hit with me.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Really tasty halibut fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A good place just off the downtown area for takeout, fish and chips, burgers etc. Located on Prideaux, just south of Comox Road, about a block west of Tim Hortons. Street parking available. One can choose to eat on picnic tables outside the cook area or take out. Staff is friendly and down to earth. Try the halibut more expensive but tasty.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old City Take Out also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Old City Take Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old City Take Out, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.