We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried once, won't be back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Nest Bistro

The Nest Bistro
77 Skinner St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R2X7, Canada
+1 250-591-2721
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Ice Cream in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, French, Fusion, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant, lounge, bar, al fresco patio, scratch made food, locally sourced ingredients.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tried once, won't be back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Overrated. Food was completely unremarkable save for the truffle butter. Ambiance was shockingly lacking for the price point and Christmas decorations very tacky. Wine list decent, service good but I would not go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    30
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nanaimo you are so lucky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We took friends from Nanoose. It was their first time. They said the Nest was warm and cosy. Appetizers - The crunchy prawns were my favourite followed by roast beef yorkshire pudding, then the brie and mushroom tart. Main courses, two of us had the steak, yum, the others had the duck with rave reviews. Nice selection of wine and desserts with great service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Masterful focus on service and quality dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Once again, I had the great pleasure of visiting The Nest. Apart from the oustandingly quirky and very local-BC wine list - we had a Joie Farm Rose and a Cassini Pinot Noir - the food rides that fine line between elegance and richness. Not too "lean", not too "fat"... I'm gradually eating my way though the menu and still have a few stops to make... Although I rarely eat desserts, I manage to try one or two every time I am lucky enough to visit...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food for our "Mid Island" Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My cousin and her spouse live in Cowichan Bay, and I live north of Nanaimo. We wanted to meet "halfway" for a meal, so decided upon The Nest Bistro.

Intrigued by some of the menu choices, we shared the Sauteed Prawns served in white wine garlic cream sauce and the baby potato skins stuffed with pesto, vine tomatoes and Little Qualicum mixed cheeses served with cilantro mayo. We "oohed and aahed" when the flavours hit our tastebuds. The combination of ingredients in these dishes is very rich and unique.

Our entrees were equally delicious; we savoured every bite. It was evident to us that thought and caring is put into the creation of each meal.

Dessert had us in raptures; cheesecake as light as a feather and warm chocolate ganache cake shared four ways.

There are gluten-free options for each part of the meal, which we appreciated.

This bistro seats 28 and has an intimate, cozy feel, especially enjoyable on a cool November evening.

We were all very happy that we selected the Nest Bistro for our get together!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We enjoyed a delicious dinner for two at Nest Bistro recently. I had the chicken stuffed with brie and mushrooms while my partner had the steak. Both meals were delightful and cooked perfectly, accompanied by mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables and red cabbage. Good portions. We had complimentary house made bread to start, and finished with a duo of their in-house desserts, a ginger cake in caramel sauce and a cheesecake. The ginger cake was my favorite. The restaurant is small, only holding a couple of dozen diners and was full on the Saturday we visited, so make reservations. Service very friendly and attentive. Thoroughly enjoyed and would go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nest Bistro also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to The Nest Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nest Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.