We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nest Bistro

The Nest Bistro
486A Franklyn Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R2X7, Canada
+1 250-591-2721
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 283 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: French, Italian, Bistro, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: beautifully prepared food, emphasis on fresh and local seafood and produce. Excellent new restaurant with fine cooking by chef-owners.
British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The food, the service and the atmosphere were all top of the line. Everything was super tasty and so worth the visit. We didn't have dessert as we were full but the options looked yummy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefNic75, Owner at The Nest Bistro, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks for your kind feedback and recommendation. We really appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    27
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This small restaurant has a small menu but everything I have tried has been delicious. I like that they present an "amuse bouche" to start your dining experience. Beautiful presentation, delicious food & attentive service. This is our "go-to" place for special occasions & when out of town guests are visiting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefNic75, Owner at The Nest Bistro, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation and words of praise. We really appreciate it. Thank you for taking the time to publish this review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I eat out once a week. When we are in Nanaimo, the Nest is our first choice. The food is fabulous, the wine selection is great and service is perfect. We live in Vancouver were there are lots of great restaurants, the Nest Bistro is one of the great ones, it just happens to be in Nanaimo.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefNic75, Owner at The Nest Bistro, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I just wanted to say thank you for your generous feedback. We really appreciate your enthusiasm and repeat business. It is always a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

One of Nanaimo's best. Food and service both very good. Nice choices of entrees, appetizers and desserts. House wine was fine. We will defintely go back when we can.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefNic75, Owner at The Nest Bistro, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thanks so very much for your kind review and recommendation. We are glad you were happy dining with us and we look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tuck in to this great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I settled on "Very Good" because the appetizers and desserts were excellent, but both of our entrees fell short of that (found the risotto very underseasoned).

Loved the option to get two or three of the outstanding desserts on one platter for sharing. The presentation of this is really lovely, and it's nice to be able to try a few. Makes the dessert decision easier!

It's a great space (it's small - make a reservation!), and we loved the dining experience. We'd go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefNic75, Owner at The Nest Bistro, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and feedback. It is fun to be recommended using words from our slogan. We are happy you appreciate our dessert program and that your overall experience was so favorable. I am sorry you were not happy with your risotto. I wish it had been brought to our attention at the time so it could be corrected; we have a policy of resolving any issue as it arises. We wish every guest's experience to surpass their expectations every time.

We really appreciate your recommendation and feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nest Bistro also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to The Nest Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nest Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.