We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and value in Nanaimo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Long Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn on Long Lake to your Saves list
The Inn on Long Lake
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4700 North Island Highway, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 1W6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Continental Brkfst
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great views and value in Nanaimo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our second time in Nanaimo and first time staying at the Inn on Long Lake. The Inn was recommended to me by a coworker and I'm glad I took the recommendation. Our room was on the third floor, which gave us a beautiful view of the lake. The Inn, although a bit dated in decor, is very clean and probably one of most comfort-for-value hotels in Nanaimo. In addition to a lower rate for CAA members, your stay includes a continental breakfast (and will accommodate gluten-free diets). We were visiting with family so we didn't have anytime to use the hotel facilities but we will check out the hot tub and sauna the next time for sure.

While in Nanaimo we recommend Longwood Pub, the Nest Bistro, Asteras, and Real Food to dine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. And please, pass my thanks on to your co-worker who recommended us. We all love the view, and the staff here work hard to make it as comfortable as possible for our guests.
We do try to keep items available for those with Gluten sensitivities, as I know that the average Continental breakfast can be difficult for those affected. Thank you for mentioning this.
I am sorry that you did not have time to try out our hot tub-it is very popular, and is a great way to unwind after a day of exploring. Next time!
You also attended some of my favourite restaurants! Longwood Brew pub is our top referral, due to its quality, service, and proximity, and Asteras is perhaps my personal favourite restaurant in Nanaimo. The owner is incredible, and clearly loves what he does!
Thank you,
James Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    59
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
47
45
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Apparently all rooms have a view, and it's a really nice view of the lake, plus sun rises over the lake. It's right on the highway (didn't hear the highway at night) so easy to get out and about if you want to do some touring of the area and an easy 5-10 min to the ferries.

Rooms are clean and large with a lounge area and a desk, massive TV, tiny bathroom and kitchen area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you sellersalian. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our wonderful Inn. You are correct-every room has a view of Long Lake. I personally cannot think of a better end to the day than sitting on a balcony overlooking the lake. And it is still so convenient. I think its a very unique spot.
I know that our bathrooms are certainly not massive, but I am sure you will agree that they are very functional, and maybe a bit bigger than "tiny".
I hope that when you return to Canada on future trips that you will be back to stay at the Inn On Long Lake.
Thank you,
James Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Long Lake for two nites on sept.11 th12th. It was a lovely place to stay.Lovely room overlooking the lake.The breakfast was great .Enjoyed The walk around the lake in the morning.The staff was very friendly.We will be back when we are back in Nanaimo. BOB & JACKIE from Brandon M.B.

Room Tip: get a room on the east to view the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you Bob and Jackie. I am happy knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn, and enjoyed the breakfast and the hotels expansive grounds. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Nanaimo.
By the way, don't worry too much about the view-all our rooms have a patio or balcony facing the lake. While many people develop a preference for one particular viewing angle, they are all pretty nice!
Thank you,
James Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a nice surprise. Had a bottom floor unit that was pet friendly and clean. The patio opened right on to the lawn leading to the lake. Nice and quiet - couldn't even hear the highway out front. The price was reasonable so we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! I am so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We have a truly unique setup here. While we are close to the highway, the sliding glass doors in every room open onto a private patio or balcony that overlooks the lake. It is very peaceful and relaxing looking over the lake, and I know that I never tire of the view.
Thank you,
James Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Langley, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Long Lake for a couple of days for our children's canoe and kayak regatta which was taking place at the same lake. The inn is similar to a motel style of accommodation with the rooms accessible from the outside. The service was great and the front desk staff were polite and helpful with respect to finding restaurants and after-hours venues. They even pointed out a pub that had a large number of craft beers on tap which was appreciated. The views were beautiful, the rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. And a continental breakfast was available in the morning, which my children were very grateful to have. All of this was available at a pretty good daily rate. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you Sam E. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I know that we had several people at the Inn for the recent Regatta that the Canoe and Kayak Club held on the lake. I am certain that many of our other guests also enjoyed being able to sit on their balconies and watch the competition on the lake.
James Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at The Inn on Long Lake for a week in August. The view of Long Lake was great!! The location was also great. Nanaimo is a beautiful place to see and we can't wait to go back!! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Nanaimo. It is a beautiful city, with some phenomenal parks such as Neck Point or Pipers Lagoon-both great places to enjoy the natural beauty of the coast. The boutiques and shops of the Old City Quarter are quite charming too. And with Nanaimo's central location, it is a good home base to explore other parts of the island if you ever tire of our City's charms. There are so many great attractions within a short ddrive-the murals of Chemainus, the "Goats On The Roof" at Coombs, Cathedral Grove old growth forest, as well as the beaches of Parksville and Qualicum are just a few examples.
We look forward to seeing you when you return!
James Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A very beautifully located; comfortable; well-run motel. The rooms well appointed and furnished with every facility a traveller may need. Good & friendly service; excellent value. Generous buffet breakfast included. Recommend highly

Room Tip: Upstairs and south wing for better view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to make our Inn a comfortable and friendly place to stay. The fact that every room has a view over the lake is a very nice bonus though.
Thank you,
James Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on Long Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Long Lake

Address: 4700 North Island Highway, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 1W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
#4 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Long Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn On Long Lake is located on beautiful Long Lake. Every room has a balcony or patio overlooking the water. Continental Breakfast, parking, and free wi-fi included for all of our guests. Beautiful gazebo with large hot tub and sauna. Sit and enjoy the sunrise from your private balcony. Watch the wildlife, or the model sailboat club. Enjoy our Continental Breakfast with its fruit, yogurt, baked goods, hardboiled eggs, and wafflemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn on Long Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Long Lake Hotel Nanaimo
Hotel On Long Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Long Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.