We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Bastion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Bastion Hotel to your Saves list
Coast Bastion Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Bastion Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sidney, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We were looking to get away for a few days... Nanaimo and the Coast Bastion were perfect. We spent 4 wonderful nights. The staff were wonderful, the food fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    203
    45
    10
    8
See reviews for
86
182
26
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. This is probably the best standard hotel in Nanaimo according to reports. It is a good hotel with comfortable rooms and tiny balconies many with good views of the harbour.For me the highlight was the restaurant where they have a taster menu for tapas where you cold choose from a number of items on the menu. Anyway a good, solid choice and I would add that this is generally true of the Coast brand properties elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed here on a lay over for our honeymoon as we traveled between Vancouver Island and the Mainland. We couldn't had been happier. We got a great rate though the hotel by booking 30 days in advance and paying in full. We had a Harbourview Premium room and it was truly a premium room. We were even able to check in a few hours early which enabled us to enjoy the Nanaimo Waterfront. The hotel room had been recently updated and it made it that more enjoyable. The room was very roomy and the view was spectacular. The room was very clean and very easy to relax in. When we had left for dinner we were given turn down service. When we got back from dinner out we ordered the Nanaimo Cheesecake from room service and it was delicious. Check out was easy. You do have to pay for parking but it under $10 for the night. We had a great stay and if we could had spent an additional night we most certainly would had.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We stayed in a double room with a nice view of the harbor. The room was recently redecorated in clean, modern colors and fabrics. We had a small dog (a pug) and it was only a $10 additional fee for him. The staff at the hotel was very helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

The Coast Bastian in Nanaimo was an excellent choice. The Hotel is very comfortable and the renovated rooms are sooo nice. The bed was a bit too hard but everything else was good. The food at the on site Restaurant was Fabulous! Location is extremely beautiful right on the Harbor. Our partial Harbor view on the 12th floor was so lovely and relaxing. The front desk gentlemen were a bit cold, they could have been more friendly, but mechanically did their job well enough. Parking is an issue, we were lucky enough to get free parking right across the street after 5:00pm but the Hotel has no parkade which is very odd. I would highly recommend this Hotel for a relaxing day or two vacation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Some of the rooms in this hotel have been redone beautifully, with panoramic views of the harbor, ultramodern furnishings and beautiful baths, while none of the corridors or the lobby seem to have been fixed up. It looks like they ran out of funds. The owner is also paranoid about the redone rooms -- although the hotel has rollaway beds and although there is plenty of room in the new rooms for a rollaway, the staff would not give us one because the owner is worried that the beds might make marks on the newly painted walls (????). We had to call a manager at home to get permission to get a rollaway. The new rooms are called "junior suites," but since they are each only one room, this is hotel-speak hyperbole. Don't be misled.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

This Hotel was a dream come true for us and exactly what we needed to help wind down our vacation to Vancouver Island. The location is fabulous, definately the best in Nanaimo. Our room was on the 10th floor with a wonderful view of the Ocean. The juliet style balcony was a bit small but still provided a romantic spot to view the harbour. The rooms, while not overly large, were decorated beautifully! The furniture, television, bedding and bathroom were all completely wonderful! The bed creeked a bit but nothing major. We loved the room so much we had to bring our family and friends who live in Nanaimo up to the room to show it off.
We were so relaxed we even ordered room service for breakfast as we just didn't want to leave the room. The food arrived in a very short amount of time, steaming hot and delicious. The omelet was huge and had lots of flavour and toppings of your choice.
The mini-bar fridge had a great selection of beverages, alcoholic and non-alcoholic. The prices were a bit steep for us but I can see that in a pinch it can be very convenient.
The cleaning staff were very friendly, and efficient.
We will most DEFINATELY be back to the Coast Bastion, it was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Address: 11 Bastion Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
#1 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Bastion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.