We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town for a lengthy stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Bastion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Bastion Hotel to your Saves list
Coast Bastion Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Bastion Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best place in town for a lengthy stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great rooms and great views. Close to all amenities...all within walking distance. If you dine in the restaurant order the Salmon and scallops! Best ever and cooked to perfection. The only thing that could make it better would be larger balconies. I stayed here for 10 weeks in a row and could stay 10 more.

Room Tip: There is no pool, but the gym facilities are pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    203
    45
    10
    8
See reviews for
86
182
26
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okanagan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a great view of the harbour In a clean pet friendly hotel room. The front desk was helpful and friendly. Multiple ways to get in and out of the hotel, the waterfront walk is right across the street so you can take your dog for a quick pee before bed in some nice grass. Haha. If your there to visit the town you can walk through the downtown area in every direction from this hotel. If your there to visit friends and family this hotel provides a nice peaceful place to rest your head at night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

With in walking distance of several establishments offering a wine range of food, beverage, entertainment and tourism sights. We immediately started snapping photos within a few feet of this amazing hotel. The staff was so friendly. They will not only park your car but retrieve it as well. They even unload and load your luggage. This was the millionaire treatment right from the get go ... Our room was amazing with a view to die for. A short walk to all the services and even more. And the Hotel is classy, classy, classy but not so over the top that you would feel uncomfortable. All amenities listed on their web sight were true to the taking. The food was great, the rooms were comfy cozy and very clean. It was like a dream come true after a long travel to get there. My only regret was we did not stay long enough. Anyone complaining about this hotel must just have a contemplative nature to begin with. So, so, so friendly of a place and a fun bar too.

Room Tip: We had a room with ocean few on a high floor. Can't really remember which one but the linen was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night when stranded by busy ferries. The front desk staff were very friendly and worked hard to find us the best rate. While the hotel is not new, the rooms appear to have been recently renovated and were spacious and very clean. We were traveling with our dog so we were relegated to a pet designated room, but the cleaning staff must be very thorough because we saw no evidence of previous pet "guests". The only downside is we stayed in a room on the S/E corner directly above the air conditioning units which were quite loud so we were unable to open our exterior door/window at night.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is obviously managed and staffed by people who know how to provide quality service. Everyone makes you feel important and wanted; they ensure you're happy with whatever you have or do and go out of their way to accommodate your needs. Recent upgrades to the bathrooms makes this well established property a must-to-stay-in and its proximity to shops and walks makes it an ideal choice when visiting the area.

Room Tip: Rooms number 07-10 offer good easterly views of harbor; are quieter and remain cooler after midday w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Coast Bastion Hotel is simply one of the lovliest hotels in which we have ever stayed. The staff is beyond helpful, the restaurant is excellent and the property is beautifully decorated and immaculate. We will always stay at this hotel when visiting Nanaimo!

Room Tip: View of the harbor is gorgeous and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Bastion. Great location close to the water, they have a great staff, and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Room was smaller than we expected, A/C unit was loud and we didn't like the bed, it was very soft and small. Otherwise great hotel and would highly reccomend staying here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Address: 11 Bastion Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Bastion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.