We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Northgate Inn

Save Saved
You added Best Western Northgate Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Northgate Inn
6450 Metral Dr., Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 2L8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Nanaimo
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I stay here for business often, and the are always accommodating. The rooms are always clean, are recently redone and the staff is friendly. Wireless works great, rooms are big, beds are comfy. Worth the stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    74
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
49
42
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed one night after getting off the ferry late, so fell right to sleep. The room was good-sized and clean. The continental breakfast was good, and the location was convenient for grocery shopping (large store across the street). It is not in town, but conveniently close to the highway from the ferry to the north part of Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We usually stay at a different hotel when we visit Nanaimo, however it is being renovated and our last experience was less than positive. So, this year we decided to try something new. Our criteria: Pet Friendly, Clean and Quiet, Reasonable Rates.

We stayed in a King Sized Suite for four days (Room #106) the rates were very reasonable and the room was clean and well appointed. I didn't attach pictures, because really it is a standard looking room in Best Western's decor. There is a small surcharge for pets ($20/night I believe) and they are required to stay on the first floor at this hotel. We were thrilled that our reservation also included a generous free Continental Breakfast (Waffles!), free parking and reliable wireless internet. Although it was the holiday season, we had excellent service from day one. Overall, my husband and I were very happy with our stay and we will definitely return.

Oh, If you are looking for dinner within walking distance, I highly recommend checking out Delicado's. I've created a review of this charming southwestern cafe too.

Room Tip: I found the pub is a bit loud and I was woken by the bass several times. If you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

It's not an overly fancy hotel, but that being said the staff are excellent and the rooms are nice and great for business travel. I have found that the downtown area in Nanaimo can be a little seedy, so it's nice to be away from that area. The room rates are great and there's ample parking and tons of restaurant and shopping options reasonably close by.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I'm checking out this morning after a 5 night stay. As usual it's all good. This hotel serves up a good conti breakfast from 6:30-9:00.
The hotel is across the street from Super store. Within a block there are a number of places to eat at.
The parking here is very good. Plus easy access to the highway.
The staff here are friendly and always with a smile.
Good job Northgate Inn.

"I will be back"

Room Tip: The baked ravioli at 'Little Georges' is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the BW Northgate for one night prior to flying out early the next morning. Our check-in was very smooth, the front desk staff where polite and helpful. There were 2 sports teams checking in and we requested a room as far from the teams as possible because they tend to be very noisy and we had a 3 month old infant with us. The front desk had already booked us into a room (329) far from the teams. We had requested a playpen for our baby to sleep in, it was in the room waiting for us and was very clean...there was a $10 extra charge for the playpen. The room and bathroom were very clean but dated. The only complaint we had was the road noise which is inevitable because the hotel is sandwiched by 2 busy roads. We always travel with a white noise machine so that covered the road noise. Our room came with a breakfast voucher which we did not get to use because we had to leave before the breakfast started at 6:00 a.m.

Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to others as a reasonably priced option while staying in the Nanaimo area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We were in Room 314 which is on the highway side and closest to the next door pub. Try and avoid this side of the hotel if you can as you can hear a fair amount of road noise (day and night) and when the pub closes there is noise from the patrons. We were not able to get a room on the opposite side as there was a team staying the night. The desk clerk advised us of this and suggested the breakfast room might be crowded in the morning, and it was, but it was not much of a problem. The bathroom was quite small but the beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 314 - too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Northgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Northgate Inn

Address: 6450 Metral Dr., Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 2L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nanaimo
#2 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
#5 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Best Western Northgate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Northgate Hotel Nanaimo
Best Western Nanaimo
Nanaimo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Northgate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.