We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simonholt Food and Drink

Simonholt Food and Drink
6582 Applecross Road, Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
250-933-3338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 258 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Reasonable prices, friendly atmosphere, great service (Thanks, Lucas!), great food. Will definitely be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    63
    26
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My new favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

First time here and mad that we didn't try it earlier! Had the pistachio crusted cod and was excellent. Came with grilled vegetables perfectly cooked. Hubby had fish taco's which were also excellent. The soft taco shell was grilled so gave it a nice smoky flavour. Good variety of food selection and reasonable prices. Wine prices and selection much better than some other similar restaurants. We'll be back soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Food and Drink, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks Jo! we are always super happy to hear about ones first time here. We are told over and over again that we are a hidden gem. We look forward to serving you and your husband again soon. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I keep on going back because I love the food and service. I absolutely love the QUINOA BOWL. I always intend to try something new but come back to this meal every time. Simon Holt also help hold lots of charity events which include music. This is a really good place to go so do yourself a favour and try it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantzville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The food was excellent ,I really enjoyed the PESTO CRUSTED HALIBUT so satisfying .The service was awesome.I've never had a bad meal here .My favorite thing to give my son and daughter in law is a gift certificate for Simonholt.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Food and Drink, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello Andrea, Thank you for your fantastic review. Our pesto dishes are starting to get pretty famous around these parts and we are over joyed to hear that you loved our new Pesto Crusted Halibut. A big part of why it tastes so good is the fresh halibut we bring in. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Simonholt on July 4, 2013. Lucas was a fabulous waiter and Josh was also super helpful in making our dining experience fun and memorable! We had scrumptious coconut prawn appetizers, pesto topped halibut with asiago risotto and sauteed vegetables and a decadent dessert aptly named "Outrageous brownie." Thanks to the wonderful chef and helpful staff for making our anniversary so special! Laura & Gehres from Alberta

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Food and Drink, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Laura & Gehres thanks again for coming in and visiting our establishment. Josh and Lucas are two of many great employees we have here and could not make the restaurant as succesfull as it is without them. We look forward to seeing you again next time your out this way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simonholt Food and Drink also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Simonholt Food and Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simonholt Food and Drink, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.