We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where was the seafood?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Simonholt Food and Drink

Simonholt Food and Drink
6582 Applecross Road, Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
250-933-3338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 283 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Price range: $1 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Nanaimo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Where was the seafood?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a celebratory dinner at this restaurant recently and were disappointed with the food. We had ordered an appetizer of calamari which we shared. The calamari came on a bed of thin noodles, and was topped with a serving of bean sprouts. Unfortunately the actual amount of calamari was quite small, and the amount of breaded crumbs which did not contain any calamari was high! Given that the seafood was placed on a bed of noodles and topped with the bean sprouts, we felt that we did not have value for money. The dipping sauce was also rather small in quantity but the server did quickly bring more when asked.
For the main course I ordered a small sized Westcoast Hotpot. The coconut curry sauce was really delicious, however, there was a definite lack of seafood! I had at most two large prawns, about three small shrimp and a couple of flakes of a white fish. There was no salmon.
The majority of the volume of the bowl was filled with Asian noodles, and the top of the bowl covered (again) with a thick layer of bean sprouts! By the end of the meal I felt as if the restaurant must have had some special deal on bean sprouts.
The service was fairly good and our server pleasant, however, we did not feel as if we had our money's worth in terms of the amout of seafood in both the appetizer and the main course, and felt that the quantities of noodles and bean sprouts were acting as relatively cheap fillers.
We will probably not go back, as there are many places in Nanaimo. where there is better value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Food and Drink, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. Sorry that your experience was not as good as the norm at our establishment. Our Calamari is always a huge hit and rarely have an issue with it. Our Seafood Hotpot is also an item that has people coming back every week asking for more. I hope next time you come in we can knock it out of the park for you. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    61
    23
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Gluten Free Menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

They have the best gluten free menu I've seen. The buns are very good - I tried to get the recipe, without success. The chicken is quite good on cranberry bread. The staff is knowledgeable. This is the go-to place in North Nanaimo.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Food and Drink, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for all of the nice things you had to say about our restaurant, our food and servers. I noticed you gave us 3 out 5 stars and was wondering what we could do to get to 5/5! Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Food was excellent and servers very nice. Atmosphere is a bit like Earls, not that that's a bad thing. Weird thing tho, when I asked for a doggie bag for my huge bowl of soup, they put it in a box lined with foil. I was glad I checked, would've ended up all over my car!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The location, menu selection, food, atmosphere, cleanliness, belinis and service were all great. Ability to make a creme brûlée not so good ;-)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanaimo
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best food and service in middle Vancouver Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Simon Holt restaurant, owned by a couple of local folks is only a few years old. It is stylish, immaculately clean, large enough for off-the-street and large get-togethers. One of the owners is always on site and this keeps things moving nicely. There is never an empty cup or dirty table and the service is fast, friendly, and ready at hand when needed. The menu is modern/eclectic. Two pages and a specials insert. The cooks must be very well trained because the food is always delicious and lovely to the eye. We go for it all and are never disappointed. A shout out to the coffee, as well. We won't go to a restaurant, no matter how good the food is, if the coffee tastes like warm water. They also have a beautiful and well appointed bar with sport t.v. and the main dining area has several televisions set up and showing continual photos from around the world. Good music, good food, good service, and good coffee. Give it a try. It's located in the North end of Nanaimo on a street behind the Costco store but you'd never guess that you are in the suburbs as the setting is just as nice as the restaurant itself.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Food and Drink, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We too enjoy our coffee that we brew fresh all day long. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simonholt Food and Drink also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Simonholt Food and Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simonholt Food and Drink, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.