We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simonholt Food and Drink

Simonholt Food and Drink
6582 Applecross Road, Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
250-933-3338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 258 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“lovely decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Went for lunch with my daughter. The food was good and the menu a little different. The server was quick and friendly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Food and Drink, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you Sunnie, we are very happy you enjoyed our restaurant with your daughter. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Cheers Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    63
    26
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Appies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Love the appies at this place! So many to choose from, they are all good. Wine list is great and reasonably priced, lots of seating and well laid out. Entrees are also great, if you have any room left!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Food and Drink, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thanks Deanna for your praise. We appreciate hearing that you are enjoying our food, wine and atmosphere. We hope to continue with the great service on your next trip in. Cheers Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good, but not great.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My daughter chose Simonholt for her family birthday celebration. There were 8 of us for dinner. We were seated and given menus and beverages promptly. Appetizers arrived in a reasonable amount of time; the meals were slower. My mom-in-law only ordered an entree, the maple-glazed pork tenderloin and she asked for no veggies, only mashed potatoes. She started on the spuds first, but when it came time to cut her pork, she could not do it, despite the sharp knife she was given. She enlisted the help of a 20-something man in our group, and with some difficulty, he cut the meat and despite great effort (and her own teeth) it took her a long time to chew one bite. When the server circled back about 15 minutes later, she spoke with her about the quality of the meat and to the woman's credit, she offered her another meal and to send over the manager. By this time, most of us were finished our meal and my mom-in-law knew it would take at least 25 minutes to get something else, so she declined. You could tell by looking at the cut of meat that it was tough, end pieces. The manager did come over, apologized and offered a complimentary dessert, plus we were not charged for the meal, but really? I am not a gourmet cook, but there is no way that piece of meat should have been served.

On the plus side, others in our group enjoyed their fare. There were 4 celiacs in our party and we all found something tasty to sample including the Long Board Chicken, Cajun Sauteed Prawns, Grilled Chicken Rancher and Fire Breathing Dragon Bowl. The Tahitian Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee is amazing!

The atmosphere is upbeat, the decor modern.

I will give this restaurant one more try, but am not hurrying back to do so.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Food and Drink, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you Islander for your input. We are very happy to hear that 7 out of 8 people really enjoyed themselves. Our manager Josh let us know that there was an issue and that he took it off the bill and bought dessert as well. He let us know that everyone left really happy. We took your input and have talked to our chef to make sure that we do not have this problem again. Our Tendorloins come in whole loins and we believe that it may have been just a tough peice of meat and are truley sorry to your mother in law. We hope to see yo again and deliever a fantastic evening for you. Cheers, Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner was good and Service was great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The food was good and fresh, service was great. The server was knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. We have been in the past when the service was slow but not this time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Food and Drink, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you Dieselkitty for your comments. We are always working hard to improve our service, food and atmosphere at all times. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have been to Simonholt countless times since it opened in Nanaimo. No matter what we have tried, the food has always been delicious. This is our favourite restaurant to take visitors to, as the menu is varied and everyone can find something they enjoy. One of our favourite appetizers is the calamari, actually we get it every time we go, it is that good!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codyd16, Owner at Simonholt Food and Drink, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind words laddie. We count on word of mouth for the majority of our advertising and appreciate your patronage. Cheers Cody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simonholt Food and Drink also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Simonholt Food and Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simonholt Food and Drink, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.