We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cafe Francais

Le Cafe Francais
153 Commercial Street, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5G5, Canada
+1 250-716-7866
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 258 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

During our first visit to Nanaimo, we came upon this lovely little restaurant, friendly service, great food - an all around great experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    31
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nanaimo's only French restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Their menu is mainly crepes, but they also do seafood and other dishes. Everything is prepared to order and nicely presented. The service is friendly and helpful. Aside from a daily special crepe, their menu is the same year-round. There is a good selection of wine, a couple available by the glass, and a well-chosen selection of French wines by the bottle. I'd suggest checking by phone before you go, because they do tend to be closed a lot and also seem to close early in the evenings.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food for reasonable price, service is very good too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have visited Nanaimo with my family and had the opportunity to have lunch at "Le Café Français"; we didn't know the place, but our choice proved to be the right one. Excellent food, very good service, Gilles (owner and Chef) runs a quality service. If you like good food, and French cuisine, go to "Le Café Français" when in Nanaimo, you will understand why I'm giving them a very good evaluation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Read the reviews so was expecting a great experience. The food was very average. Had the French onion soup that was far too oily. Main course came with a side of veggies, six over steamed sugar snap peas and a sliver of broccoli, though my husband did enjoy his Coquille St. Jacques. $2 for a roll of hot bread, yummy but really? No air conditioning and the vinyl covered seats along with the plastic table clothes did little for the dining experience. And to top it off was overcharged for a glass of house wine. Surely the waiter, the owner's son, knows the price of the house wine. Would not recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Should have wrote this review earlier as we were last summer but are going to the island again this summer and this will defiantly be one stop we will not miss. The food was excellent but what topped it off was the excellent service. Not sure what we ordered, but do remember even the ketchup was made from scratch and the best I have ever had. The chef came out after our meal, it was just awesome. If it is a hot day, dress cool as unfortunately there is not air conditioning and was rather warm, but worth it for the great service, food and atmosphere. Keep up the excellent service and see you soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe Francais also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Le Cafe Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cafe Francais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.