We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate - and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple View Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maple View Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Maple View Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3315 Rock City Road | moved from 3049 Maple View Drive, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 1T5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Upper Broughton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“First rate - and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had three nights here. It's excellent. The accommodation is very good, the breakfasts are excellent and the host, Peter, is not only very helpful and efficient but also great fun. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
71
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for only one night and everything was perfect. Extremely luxurious bedroom and bathroom, really well decorated and organized. TV with loads of channels and recorded programs, fast wi-fi and an excellent breakfast. Peter is an excellent host, we couldn't recommend him highly enough!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Maple View B&B in Nanaimo, and we have serious doubts we could have found a better place to stay. Our host Peter was absolutely great, from serving a fantastic breakfast with great conversations to giving excellent suggestions what to do and where to dine.
In addition to cereal, toast, fresh fruit, juice, tea and coffee, Peter offers a choice of three options for breakfast. We opted one day each for pancakes and omelette and we were very happy with both choices.
We stayed in the Lancaster Suite, which was spacious, light and very clean. WiFi worked like a breeze, and we were glad to meet the cats and the dog Kate.
We are very thankful for the nice time we had at Maple View, and we can whole-heartedly recommend this B&B to anyone else staying in Nanaimo,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Having never stayed at a B & B before, my husband and I didn't quite know what to expect. Luckily for us, Maple View, and especially our host Peter, made our honeymoon stay a wonderful experience. The location in Nanaimo is perfect, providing easy access to downtown and a quiet, tree-lined neighborhood to come back to each night. Our room was immaculately clean and provided all the amenities you could possible need on your trip. But the thing my husband and I will remember most about Maple View is the family-like atmosphere created by ours hosts (and their perfectly adorable dog and cats).
Peter was full of useful information about local attractions, restaurants and ferry information. He even suggested some hiking spots on our way up to go caving. And breakfast is another topic entirely. Omelets, pancakes, fruit, whatever you might be craving, they will be more than happy to whip up. Overall, our experience was fantastic. If you're going to be in Nanaimo, stay at the Maple View B & B!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Maple View and no praise could be high enough for the hospitality of our host Peter. Our room was very nice and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was amazing and we sat outside with a beautiful serene view to enjoy it. Peter cooks it freshly and caters for any dietary needs you may have with a smile. If you are in a car you have the best of both worlds here, tranquility for a good rest at night and great location for reaching some very interesting spots in a couple of hours. We even went to Butchart Gardens from here. Peter knows the area well and gives you great advice on things to see and do e.g. we had never heard of Dingy Dock Pub and were very happy that Peter told us about it. Also not to far to get a very nice meal at night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were nervous when we received an email shortly before arrival telling us that the "Maple View B & B" had moved! What?? What if it wasn't as nice or didn't work as well for us and our 4 children?! Turns out our fears were totally unfounded. The property was right in town, but set apart on a beautifully treed parcel of land. Peter couldn't have been more gracious and helpful, giving us detailed directions to a beautiful lake and feeding our family abundantly in he morning.

Kids were thrilled to meet "Kate, the exuberant lab".

Overall, it was a lovely experience. We could've stayed many more days. The accommodation itself was very comfortable and worked extremely well for us!

Although 4 children are not typical clientele for Maple View, we found our room to feel quite detatched and sound proof, which was very nice for us.

Try the new Maple View, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at Maple View twice before it was our natural choice when coming to the area again.

Peter and Sue have VERY recently moved house so the B&B has moved too. It's no longer in the Benson Meadows area it's now much closer to downtown Nanaimo. That being said the location is private, quiet and equally as comfortable as the previous spot.

As always we were made welcome and we want to wish the family all the best in their new home and venture!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3315 Rock City Road | moved from 3049 Maple View Drive, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 1T5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple View Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at one of the best places Nanaimo has to Offer! Our modern property is located on just over an acre of woodland, landscaped gardens, right in the centre of Nanaimo. Enjoy affordable luxury, elegantly & individually designed rooms furnished & equipped with facilities expected by the discerning traveler. Deluxe beds, a divine breakfast menu, impeccable service & always a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maple View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple View Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.