We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Lake Waterfront B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Long Lake Waterfront B&B to your Saves list
Long Lake Waterfront B&B
240 Ferntree Place | Nanaimo BC, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T5M1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary amenities!
Ranked #3 of 33 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Centennial, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay on Vancouver Island. It is a short drive from the ferry terminals. Janice and Gordie are wonderful hosts and the rooms are very comfortable. We spent two nights before heading to the northern part of the island and then another night on our way back. It was like coming home!

Room Tip: The lake front room is huge with a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is always a treat to see reactions of guests that have never stayed in a B&B and are surprised how much they enjoyed a private B&B on the lake. Glad you stayed with us and found a different way to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
168
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our only regret was that our stay was one night. Beautiful, relaxing property with very nice and warm hosts. Breakfast was very good. We were celebrating my 50th birthday and this place absolutely added to a wonderful BC trip. Would highly recommened it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lakeside suite, beautiful, private, awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made comfortable with our surroundings. This is not just a place to sleep; it's a destination. Lots of fun things to do at Long Lake Waterfront B&B - hot tub, kayak, sit and relax on the dock or in our beautifully appointed room - nothing was forgotten. We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary and the Madrona Suite was beyond our expectations. Gordie and Janice were great hosts - breakfasts were excellent and we loved the chat times around the table.

Room Tip: Madrona suite is super
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Congratulations on your 50th anniversary. We were pleased to chat with and host a remarkable couple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and my daughter and I had the absolute pleasure of staying at the Long Lake Waterfront B and B this past Christmas week 2012. Our hosts Gord and Jannie were so helpful and relaxed and gracious. The setting and our room the very nicest room we have ever stayed in with its beautiful setting overlooking the lake and gas fireplace and sunken tub. The room had beautfiul "chi" or energy in this magical setting and we were truly able to rest and relax in the very clean, warm impeccably decorate setting. Thank you-well done!

Room Tip: ask for the honeymoon room if you want the spacious open setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the unique description of our property. We get to enjoy the "Chi" every day and love sharing it with our guests from around the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My fiancee and I had the pleasure to stay at the Long Lake B&B last week and had the absolute best time possible. We simply cannot say enough good things about our time spent there. The home is gorgeous, spotless, and boasts a very warm and inviting atmosphere. Moreover, the property is exquisite and is situated on a breathtaking lake with breathtaking views. If that was not enough, the hosts Gordi and Janice are very welcoming, warm and generous people who are happy to chat, give you advice on what to do and where to go in the area, and are phenomenal cooks. Each room has large comfortable beds, cozy fireplaces, jacuzzi hot tubs, with an outdoor hot tub next to an enormous tree with eagles flying around, kayaks passing by, the list goes on and on... For anyone looking for a perfect getaway at a price that is extremely affordable (especially considering the alternatives and the value of the Long Lake B&B experience), there is no question in our minds that this is a place you must take the time to visit. Thanks for such a phenomenal time Gordi and Janice!

Room Tip: If you want the biggest room, go for the Madrona. If you want the most privacy by having your own fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Wow - we are humbled by your comments !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My son and I stayed at this B and B from Dec 13 to Dec 18 this year. Our circumstance in coming to Nanaimo was to visit with a family member who is in recovery through the support of the Edgewood Centre. As a result, it was an emotional but happy visit and having the wonderful Lakewood Suite to come home to each evening provided a little piece of homeiness for us. It felt like staying with family, but better! This is because the suite is completely separate from the owners, so you have your own peace and privacy. From the moment we arrived and looked in the fridge and saw Nanaimo bars packaged in little dishes, we knew that this was going to be the place for us. A highlight each morning was the company of Gordie and Janice, the owners of this facility and their introduction to the other guests and sharing of their wealth of knowledge about the area. The breakfast each day prepared by Chef Gordie was like dining in a Five Star restaurant with souffles, pancakes, crepes and seasonal fruits, all with healthful ingredients to help make each day a better one. We were so impressed by the panoramic views from our suite extending from one side of the suite to the other. Staying in was as fun as going out. The warm electric fireplace created ambience. This home is situated in a beautiful lake side area and the vegetation and lake side is exceptional. We made a point of relaxing in the hot tub both during the day and in the evening and were surprised one day in the middle of winter to see canoers and jet skiiers out. Only in BC. I could go on and on about our experience but I will close by saying that we were fortunate to have found this beautiful Gem and to have made friends of the owners. We would highly recommend this to anyone at any time of the year. We will be back!
Jane and Alex

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. It makes us feel good knowing we provided an experience for you to be able to bond as a family unit in a private space. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes for the New Year. Gordie and Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We spent the first night of our honeymoon trip in the Madrona Suite at Long Lake Waterfront B&B and ended up wishing we had planned to stay longer! Gordie and Janice are the most wonderful hosts we have ever had at a B&B and they made our stay a very memorable one. Our room was immaculate and so romantic (with a comfy king bed, jacuzzi tub and fireplace). The little loving touches added to the room (umbrellas, binoculars, warm slippers, etc.) made it feel almost like home. Although we didn't have time to use the hot tub or the water sports equipment (there was quite a selection!), we did enjoy the gorgeous view of the lake and the wonderful conversations with Gordie and Janice over a delicious breakfast prepared by Gordie. If you're looking for a relaxing place to stay in Nanaimo, this is the one!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongLakeWaterfrontBB, Owner at Long Lake Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Usually it is us going to Hawaii for a relaxing holiday. We appreciate your enjoyment of our property and it makes us feel good about what we have to offer our guests.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Lake Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Lake Waterfront B&B

Address: 240 Ferntree Place | Nanaimo BC, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T5M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tripadvisor travellers awarded us the 2012 Travellers Award for being in the top 25 B&B's in Canada. We are Nanaimo's highest rated waterfront resort. Use us as a day trip center for your visit to Vancouver Island and then return to relax in a luxurious private suite beside the warm and inviting lake. Your king size bed invites you after a day of golfing, fishing or enjoying the Lake in our watercraft. Hot tub is on the beach to sooth tired muscles and enjoy a glass of wine soaking in the view. Free parking and WIFI available. Let us spoil you and leave you with great memories of Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Long Lake Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Lake Waterfront B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.