We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but go early” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong House Restaurant

Hong Kong House Restaurant
3023 Barons Road, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T3Y6, Canada
250-758-1558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #150 of 283 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: Chinese, Cantonese, Szechuan, NorthWestern Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Delivery
Description: Hong Kong House has been satisfying discriminating appetites in Nanaimo for over 12 years! We serve delicious authentic Cantonese and Szechuan food at reasonable prices. We use the finest quality ingredients in creating our superb authentic meals.
Vancouver Island
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Good food, but go early”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a buffett style restaurant, plenty to choose from, very helpful friendly satff but the best is to go early the food will be piping hot and very fresh.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennie Z, Owner at Hong Kong House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2015
Thank you for your nice review. We do have the largest and we think the best buffet in town, but we also have a large dine-in and take out menu for our guests as well we home you have a chance to try both options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best food out side of China.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Smorgasbord is the best, lots of choices. Friendly staff. Nothing to dislike about this place. Come with you appetite, you won't be disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennie Z, Owner at Hong Kong House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2015
Thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, BC
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Mediocre everything.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Mediocre buffet food, lots of deep fried which isn't very appealing when it's not very hot from sitting too long. Since it's a buffet, there isn't much service. This restaurant needs an update - both in food and decor.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennie Z, Owner at Hong Kong House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2015
Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you didn't have a good experience at our restaurant. We strive to have a great experience for all our guests. With the new ownership in 2011 we expanded the menu with more healthy options and make all our food fresh in the restaurant every day with quality ingredients, more vegetable items, No MSG, and began cooking with healthier vegetable oil instead of lard. We always strive to have a quality product and invite you to come back and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bewst chinese food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

When my wife and I go for lunch we always go here , as the smorgasbord is hot and and a great selection.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennie Z, Owner at Hong Kong House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2015
Thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“seems to have gone downhill a little”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We've been to the Hong Kong House on many occasions over the past couple of years and were there again for the dinner buffet earlier this week. The servers are friendly, the food is plentiful and ncludes dessert but we feel the quality had deteriorated.The hot and sour soup is still good but is the best of a pretty bland bunch. It's ok if you're hungry but all in all, think we'll be looking for another place for Chinese.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennie Z, Owner at Hong Kong House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2015
Thank you for your review. With the new ownership in 2011 we expanded the menu with more healthy options and make all our food fresh in the restaurant every day with quality ingredients, more vegetable items, No MSG, and began cooking with healthier vegetable oil instead of lard. We always strive to have a quality product and invite you to come back and try us again. Please try us again, For these reasons we feel the quality has gone up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong House Restaurant also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Hong Kong House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.