We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dawett East Indian Cuisine

Dawett East Indian Cuisine
1435 Ellis St, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 2A3, Canada (Formerly Dawett East Indian Cuisine) (Central City)
+1 250-717-1668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 479 Restaurants in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Central City
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Being an Indian and very wary of Indian restaurants in vacation locations my expectations were not very high. Researched the 3 main Indian restaurants and thought this was most likely of the lot to be authentic. Fortunately I was proved right and food was way above expectations.

Ordered many veggie entrees with spice level of 3 which will be hot enough for most. I ordered a chicken dish at a 6 which even for me who loves the really hot mind blowing chilli sauces was super hot but the raita helped mild it down a touch. Serves me right for being super brave!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    8
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Good Indian fare with generous servings. Food quality? Remarkable and very friendly staff. A must visit restaurant if one tires of Western food. Absolutely worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Experience as well as the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We are visiting our daughter here in Kelowna, but we live in Ontario, so we were pleasantly surprised at how great this restaurant is. The food was outstanding, the service and atmosphere all were excellent. There were five of us dining, and we all enjoyed our meal immensely. The naan was superb as well. We definitely will be returning when we are visiting Kelowna again!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in Kelowna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Have tried many items on the menu all of which were completely, 100% satisfying! I have been numerous times and would highly recommend this restaurant. The egg plant bartha was amazing and of course you have to try the chili chicken! I could eat anything on the menu and I would not be disappointed. I have always had friendly service at Dawat and will continue to go back whenever I am in town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Still awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went again and had a variety of foods. My dinner partner does not like spicy food, told the waiter this and was happy with his curry meal. Everything was excellent!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawett East Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Dawett East Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dawett East Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.