We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten years of excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mon Thong Thai Restaurant

Mon Thong Thai Restaurant
Landmark V Tower Suite B1 - 1620 Dickson Ave. | Kelowna, BC, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 9Y2, Canada (Central City)
(250) 448-6009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 479 Restaurants in Kelowna
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Central City
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central City
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ten years of excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have been going to Mon Thong for the past 20 years. I admit to trying other Thai restaurants that come and go but Mon Thong is the best and most consistent. Great food excellent service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Perhaps I have been spoiled in trying great Thai restaurants in various US States and other Canadian cities, but I've been patient in giving Mong Thong the benefit of the doubt that they will get better. Nothing wrong with the food, just boring. No creativity goes into their dishes as they are all small portioned and mid level in taste. I don't think most people in Kelowna realize what really good Thai food tastes like!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Kinda bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We meet a couple of friends while in Kelowna for a " great thai " experience! We were all very disappointed. The basic flavors of the dishes were OK, just very bland. We all like our thai food fairly hot(4 out of 5) on the pepper scale. We don't even think it was a 1 ! It also took forever to get our bill. All in all, not a great meal . Good thing the company was great.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“~ Great Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

~ We've been going to Mon Thong for years and it has always been excellent food & value. The service is good and food portions are good as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Thai Everytime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

One of Kelownas oldest and most popular authentic Thai food locations. Highly recommended to anyone from out of town, or locals looking to try something new.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon Thong Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Mon Thong Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mon Thong Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.