We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place needs Gordon Ramsey” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Minstrel Cafe and Pub

Minstrel Cafe and Pub
4638 Lakeshore Rd., Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 1X5, Canada
250.764.2301
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 529 Restaurants in Kelowna
Price range: $0 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This place needs Gordon Ramsey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I have been to this restaurant a number of times. I like their patio as much as I like any other patio in Kelowna.
The issue is, like other reviewers have pointed out, it's just not worth it. My beer was warm, my wife's white wine was warm, our glasses were dirty and the food was awful. If you are ever in notice the amount of flies that fly around the restaurant - even in the winter. Not a good sign of cleanliness. In fact, I have a friend that is a chef at one of Kelowna's nicest restaurants now who shared with me the terrible state of the kitchen.
Do yourself a favor and stay North by going to The Fixx, Cabana's, The El or Manteo.
Trust me.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    11
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“$1.95 For Water With Lime!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have given this restaurant the benefit of the doubt on three separate occasions, thinking that each visit was an off night. Well...THREE STRIKES YOUR OUT! Every meal we have had at this establishment has been sub par, to put it politely. The last straw was my wife's birthday dinner when I was charged $1.95 for a glass of water with lime juice. I asked for water with lime, which I have done at every restaurant I have visited for the past 38 years and never before have been charged. I questioned the waitress about the charge thinking it was an error. She came back a few minutes later saying the bar manager refused to deduct the charge from the bill. I emailed the owner twice over the period of a few months but never heard back.

This is the last time we will ever visit this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Friends were taking me out for my birthday dinner.
Beer and white wine were not cold, server brought out wine cooler with ice. It never did get chilled.
3 out of 5 of us ordered the special which was Mahi Mahi. It was so overdone, we called the server over to complain. She offered to take the beer off the bill. When my friend called the owner the next day, he said the server said we had eaten all the fish and we had told her it was good. That was not the truth. He believed the server and not his clients and offered my friend a $20.00 gift certificate. What a joke.
Never again will we go back, we have told so many people not to eat there. Bad publicity goes a long way in this town. I agree with Zrhem....owner just out to make a buck, does not take
responsibility for staff. Never again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Panko Tuna;Crab Crusted Salmon w/Garden Pea Risotto; Mediterranean Bass Fillet w/Quinoa Crab Cake. All amazing!
Dinner with my husband & granddaughter. We all shared the Panko Tuna with Seaweed salad - amazingly fresh and delicious. Great way to start the meal! My husband had the Mediterranean Sea Bass with Grilled Summer Squash & Organic Quinoa Crab Cake. Again very good. I shared - with my little granddaughter, the Crab Crusted Coho Salmon with Garden Pea Risotto which was absolutely delicious. The fish was cooked perfectly and the risotto was creamy and smooth. Delicious meal! The Quinoa Crab Cake was very creative and quite delicious. I would recommend arriving before 6pm. The service is much better at that time. Servers get a bit crazy after that. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Owner is out to make a buck and does not take responsibility for staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We went to the restaurant for the 7th year in a row only to find that the menu Prices had gone up substantially. However, we are willing to Pay for good food and good service. Unfortunately, the waitress neglected to mention the ITalian sausage in the l ch spe ial and luckily we noticed it before eating. - she had mentioned the chirizo which we had requested to leave out. My two kids ordered from the children's menu for 8.75 each for a small bowl of pasta for one and a burger for the other. Sides were a couple of dollars more. When requesting the drink that was included in the children's special, the waitress said that the valley? smoothie was popular so we got those as drinks. When the bill came, we were charged $10 for the smoothies which the kids did not drink - they had NOT been included in the child's menu. When advising the owner that we had requested a drink for the kids from the kids menu and this is what the waitress suggested, he refused to adjust the price and instead told us "we need take responsibility" for what we order. He should be the one taking responsibility for what his staff is telling the clientele. Not sure if he was stingy or Prejudice but he was a REAL JERK. Would not go back there again. Thank God we did not get to meet him in the previous years

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minstrel Cafe and Pub also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Minstrel Cafe and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minstrel Cafe and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.