We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best overall Dining Experience in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Dining Room

Lakeside Dining Room
500 Cook Road | Hotel Eldorado, Boardwalk Restaurant and Bar, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W-3G9, Canada (South Pandosy - K.L.O.)
250 763 7500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lakeside Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 544 Restaurants in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $41
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Californian, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Cross street: Lakeshore
Description: An evening spent in the Hotel Eldorado's award-winning Lakeside Dining Room will be an evening to remember. Executive Chef, Eric Pless, strives to take advantage of the Okanagan's bounty of seasonal and organic products provided by local suppliers. Boasting fantastically prepared AAA Angus beef selections, fabulous chops, Kelowna's most extensive seafood offering and an award-winning wine list featuring over 150 different labels - Nothing beats dining lakeside at "The El."
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
“Best overall Dining Experience in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have to disagree with Move2BC stating that families and couples over 30 should stay away. We happen to be over 30 with children and we often take our family to The El for brunch, lunch and dinner. Alternatively, we also enjoy meals out with a group of friends, drinks at the El lounge or quiet date nights. All can be had at The El!! Each time we visit, we receive exceptional service and the food is always fantastic!! If you are dining here, please try the El Burger!! Second to none, I promise you. They make their own bread in house and the smoked ketchup is ridiculously good. You definitely will not get a better view of the lake in Kelowna. We are locals and this is definitely our favourite spot in town.

Also, as we are locals, we have not stayed at the hotel, but I often book family, friends and co-workers here and all have raved about the rooms and the service they have received. If you are thinking of staying in Kelowna, you would be wise to stay here!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyn n, Partner - Food & Beverage Manager at Lakeside Dining Room, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear PDS22,
Wow! We are flattered by all of your compliments! We are so luck to have such a loyal fan in the neighbourhood. Thank you for your patronage!
Sincerely,
Carolyn Nixon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    66
    33
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding location. Food is good but a bit pub like.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Love this place. One of my favorites in Kelowna and an annual visit for sure....twice per trip. Food is good but a tad pub like so be warned. Given the reviews of other restaurants in Kelowna though it should get 6 stars. If traveling by boat its a must stop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyn n, Partner - Food & Beverage Manager at Lakeside Dining Room, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Eugene P,
We're happy to learn that we are a sure stop for you when you're in town and we're flattered that you think we deserve SIX stars when held up to our competition! Wow, thank you so much!
You're correct to comment that we do offer "pub-like" fare. In our lounge and on our Boardwalk, we offer a more casual menu. However, perhaps the next time you're in (sometime after 5pm 7 days a week) ask to see our Dining Room menu wherever you choose to join us. This menu has more of a "fine-dining" feel.
Thanks again for sharing with Tripadvisor. We look forward to your next visit so that we can blow you away with one of our refined, creative and tasty entrees!
Sincerely,
Carolyn Nixon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Lovely location, but outside is preferable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great dockside location, we ate dinner outside twice in lovely weather, although on the night it rained we elected to go elsewhere as inside the building was a bit noisy. But the food and service are very good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyn n, Partner - Food & Beverage Manager at Lakeside Dining Room, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear TAMember1234,
Thank you for choosing to join us not only once but TWICE while you were in Kelowna! We're flattered and love that you love our Boardwalk patio. That darn rain though! We hope the sun shone for the majority of your time in Canada and we look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Carolyn Nixon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best tacos and nachos.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We sat in the lounge and the decor is gorgeous. Probably the nicest patio in Kelowna. I had the crunchy cauliflower taco and it was amazing. I could eat it every night. The won ton chicken nachos were also fantastic.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyn n, Partner - Food & Beverage Manager at Lakeside Dining Room, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Andrea,
Thank you for telling Tripadvisor about your favorites at the EL! We're delighted that the lounge and patio appealed to you.
We thank you for your compliments and look forward to having you back the next time you're in town!
Sincerely,
Carolyn Nixon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you are going to treat yourself, this is the place. The dining, the view and the service make the Eldorado an amazing dining experience. If you are fortunate enough to be served by Vince, you will have a great time. The food is incredible and Vince does a great job with helping you find the perfect meal for your mood. I eat here every time I visit Kelowna.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyn n, Partner - Food & Beverage Manager at Lakeside Dining Room, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Danielle L,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with Tripadvisor! We're thrilled that you're a big fan of the El and Vince. We're a big fan of his as well! Vince is a big part of the Eldorado extended family!!!
So happy we nailed the whole dining experience for you and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town!
Sincerely,
Carolyn Nixon
Partner - Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeside Dining Room also viewed

 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Lakeside Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.