We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh/clean both the food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smack DAB

Smack DAB
3762 Lakeshore Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3L4, Canada (Formerly Smack Dab) (South Pandosy - K.L.O.)
250-860-4488
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Smack DAB is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #93 of 479 Restaurants in Kelowna
Price range: $14 - $34
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Cross street: Lakeshore & Cook
Description: Smack DAB is a lively kitchen and bar located in the heart of Manteo Resort on the shores of Okanagan Lake. Open daily for buffet breakfast, lunch, dinner and late-night snacks. Smack DAB is as perfect for a quick beer after work as it is for an amazing dinner on Kelowna’s largest lakeside patio. Smack DAB, offers premium casual dining. Sit in a booth and watch our Smack DAB chefs prepare your favorite item from our forno oven & open concept kitchen area. The room is designed to take full advantage of the incredible lake views from the restaurant and bar, private dining room, and outdoor patio. Large folding glass doors allow for an open-air environment in the summer months. We are equally serious about our suds as we are about our food. We offer Kelowna’s largest selection of craft beer.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fresh/clean both the food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

enjoyed the experience on several occasions, it's a great combo of fine dining in a trendy upscale comfortable surroundings, lot's of fresh clean choices on the menu and our service has always been knowledgable and pleasurable. We feel prices are reasonable for the quality and quantity they are serving.

Perfect stop along the lakeshore to enjoy all that Kelowna has to offer small town with big city vibe.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Smack DAB, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to post your review about Smack DAB - we are glad that you tried us out a few times & are enjoying the menu & atmosphere of the restaurant. We look forward to having you return - our patio is now open!

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    64
    52
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“sad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went to Smack Dab expecting good food and a lengthy beer menu - the beer menu was acceptable for choice but thee were items that had run out. Food menu limited for choice and expensive. The 8 oz burger was the same size as a Big Mac! The thin Pizza base was how I like it but it would have been nice to have toppings!
Service was good and the only saving grace. Won't be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Smack DAB, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Grant - thank you for taking the time to post your review about your meal in Smack DAB. We offer 12 taps of craft beer, many of which you cannot get anywhere else in Kelowna and another 20 by the bottle. Our burger was also just awarded "Best Burger" in town by submissions from readers of a local magazine. We do hope you will come back to try us out again as we do have a lot to offer.

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“I'm Torn on Smack Dab but Gave it the Benefit of the Doubt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

As noted by other reviewers, the restaurant is noisy and the menu is somewhat limited. However, based on our experience, I have to recommend the food and service.

We went for lunch and got what we were looking for. My wife eats gluten free meals and there were choices for her as well but not because they were specifically designed for people with gluten intolerance. (Hint for the management: add some gluten free choices it will pay off in the long run)

I had a burger and it was very good. The fries looked as is they were made from fresh hand cut potatoes. My wife had the Korean chicken wings, while tasty they were both messy and very hot. Almost too hot. A variety of heat in this dish would be appropriate.

I had the fresh made sugar and cinnamon doughnut with three types of topping. While it was tasty, the pastry was far tougher than it should have been.

All in all, I would compare the noise level to a Cactus Club or Ear's. This IS NOT the place to go for an intimate dinner but it wasn't designed to be that type of restaurant.

We'll try it again and see if this assessment holds.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Smack DAB, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest - thank you for your detailed review of your meal at Smack DAB. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the food & ambience of the restaurant. We hope to see you back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pricey for half a bowl of soup and very small grilled cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is my second time to Smack Dab which I think is a very strange name by the way!
When you exchange the tomato soup for the French onion they give you only half a bowl to go along with the very small grilled cheese. Then they increased the price by $4.00. I don't mind paying the extra but for goodness sake please give me a bowl of soup. The cost is now $15.00 for half a bowl of soup and a very small sandwich. Service was good. I was really looking forward to have a nice new alternative restaurant with reasonable prices because this is what they said they were going to do, make it more affordable and casual. I think they need to look at this expensive menu and food portions or their customers will not be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings on this one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have been to Smack Dab three times. The food is very good and the service too, but it's way over-priced. Seventeen dollars for a burger??? And not an outstanding or large burger either. Earl's burger is way better and it's only $13. At a recent lunch at Smack Dab, my friend ordered the onion soup -- she got half a bowl and when we asked the server why it wasn't a full bowl, she said she would go to the kitchen and find out, and then she didn't. I had the grilled cheese and mushroom sandwich, which came with fries. It was very good, hot and gooey. I had an iced tea and my friend had coffee. The bill came to $35.44 and that didn't include the tip. I think that's out of line.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smack DAB also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Smack DAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smack DAB, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.