We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Anniversary Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Yellow House Resaurant

The Yellow House Resaurant
526 Lawrence Avenue, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 6L7, Canada (Central City)
(250) 763-5136
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 504 restaurants in Kelowna
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central City
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Nice Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I visited the Yellow House for the first time after many of our friends recommended it. The food was delicious. We'll be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    71
    33
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
353 helpful votes 353 helpful votes
“== very pleasant ==”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were well received.

We had the duck, the seafood pasta and the snapper; everything was quite good, except for the temperature of the fish, cool to cold. This happened here before.

Service was very pleasant. We paid about $170 for four, including a bottle of Sandhill Chardonnay, which was quite enjoyable. Unlike Raudz they take reservations, a plus in my eyes.

Eating in an old character-house is a joy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you want a second date, choose the Yellow House for your first”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very intimate setting with wonderful wait staff. Don't go if you are in a hurry though. This is a long sit down get to know your dinner mates type of restaurant. The Bruschetta is a must. The live music is a great addition as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Have lived in K-town for years but somehow never made it to this charming little restaurant. So glad to have rectified this oversight. The room is cozy and it feels like you're dining in someone's front parlour: Indeed, we were made to feel like welcome guests which is a genuine treat in Kelowna (typically known for the indifference of its servers). The wine list is small but has clearly been assembled with a knowing hand: it features some of the Okanagan's hidden gems (Hello, Tantalus Riesling!) and some good value international wines all available by the glass, half litre, or bottle. Love this kind of flexibility! The menu is an interesting mix of old world steak house (tenderloin, NY strip, rack of lamb) and new world eclectic (curry, spicy seafood rice, various fish incarnations). Our group had the curry, seared snapper, beef tenderloin, and Indonesian rice. Everything was freshly made, beautifully plated, and, most importantly, utterly delicious! One of us had a scrumptious creme brule for dessert while another (okay, it was me) ordered a second serving of the RIDICULOUSLY ADDICTIVE three-cheese scalloped potatoes. SWOON!!! The lovely servers even put a sparkler on the spuds and sang to me as we were there to celebrate my birthday. One of the nicest evenings we have had in a Kelowna eatery. Thank you, Yellow House! We'll be back (but not in an Arnold Schwarzenegger way)!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Food and Warm Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

On November 8th we went to The Yellowhouse with a coupon. We had not been previously and were very pleasantly surprised. A warm greeting at the door, instant seating, waitress knew the menu dishes, advised us of specials. We ordered one glass of house red and it was very palatable. For dinner we selected their signature seafood pasta and a nasi goring. You had your choice of heat on the nasi goring. Warm bread with their special butter was served. The dishes were about 15 minutes before serving and were hot and plentiful upon arrival. The food was very good. For desert we chose to share the Callebaut Pate, which was excellent tasting but very hard as we believe it had not been out of the freezer very long. The service throughout the meal was excellent, there were 4 staff working and about 5 tables of people. The cost including a 15% tip was $75. We will go back and perhaps try their 3 course meal on a Monday evening. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yellow House Resaurant also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Yellow House Resaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yellow House Resaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.