We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ribs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montana's Cookhouse & Bar

Montana's Cookhouse & Bar
1500 Banks Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1X 7Y1, Canada (Central City)
(250) 861-7888
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 544 Restaurants in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central City
Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great ribs and good service. I orderd the beef rib last time and the rib was a little dry. When I was asked how everything tasted I stated a little dry, they brought me another right away and a free dessert. I've been there 4 times in 2 years and I'd go back again but I find the prices on the pricey side and would love to see some half orders for those who are watching their weight.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    49
    23
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Went for ribs but won't go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Craving ribs so decided to give Montanas a try. Found their back ribs to be full of fat and very gristly; the meat had very large bones and meat seemed to be of a poor grade. Baby back ribs they weren't. After trying one, couldn't eat the rest. They offered some side ribs but again the meat seemed inferior. Didn't eat them either.
The sides were good and shrimp Kapow appetizer was very tasty.
Service was good.
However, felt like we wasted our money as the main attraction was so disappointing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Good service, and very tasty food. On the large side, so is good if you are hungry or good size for sharing. The ribs are delicious

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Long wait for average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very conveniently located across the street from our hotel. The wait was not too long to be seated. However, it seemed like they were short handed all the way around. In addition to seating guests, the hostesses were also clearing & cleaning & setting up the tables. Many of the tables stayed dirty for quite a while. It took quite a long time for our food to come to the table & we noticed it took awhile for the other tables that were seated before us to get their food as well. My steak was tender, but my husband's was not. Hence, that's why we rated the restaurant at a 3.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Montana in Kelowna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great meal choices for both kids and parents! Need to book it in advance, as they wait times can be 20-30 min. if coming after 6 pm.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana's Cookhouse & Bar also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Montana's Cookhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana's Cookhouse & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.