We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Enjoyable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bouchons Bistro

Bouchons Bistro
105-1180 Sunset Drive, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 9W6, Canada (Central City)
+1 250-763-6595
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 479 Restaurants in Kelowna
Price range: $18 - $31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central City
Description: French comfort food served in casual elegant European surroundings.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a great meal, with the Fillet Mignon and Veal Cutlet both mouth watering. Chocolate fondant desert was sensational however the Profiterole was disappointing (ice cream in profiteroles does not work).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    62
    16
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Happy to be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This gem has become a favourite whenever we visit Kelowna and it did not disappoint. The sablefish on the prix fix menu was perfect.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We tried 4 of the top recommendations in kelowna and this was by far the worse! The lamb tenderloin on the chefs table was so grisly and fatty, it was hard to cut with the steak knife let alone chew. We had the exact same dish the nite before at Raudz which was exceptional and less expensive. The bouliabaisse here had a very tasty broth but was mostly little morsels of fish alongside 1 small shrimp and a small scallop. By comparison, our seafood dish at the Fixx cafe consisted of giant scallops and shrimps.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“The Number 1 Ranking Is Deserved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a wonderful place to eat....and spend an evening! Service is excellent (Thank you Robert), the atmosphere delightful (being part French myself, married to a Quebecoise, and a traveller to France), this is a wonderful oasis in the Canadian West. Wine selection is plentiful and the menu.....wish I could try just about every offering....but I started with Escargots and was surprised that they came in a very light pastry shell, with AMPLE butter/ garlic seasoned sauce. Delicious (could make a meal of these!). My wife started with her 'main', Salmon Orange, beautifully done, tender, with an appetizing assortment of fresh vegetables, and I do mean an assortment. They vary as to the market choice, and I would say we had about a half dozen pieces of varied veggies. I was tempted to order the Bouillabaisse or the Casoullet? ...but chose the Rabbit, and it came in a bright shiny copper pot, with a SUPERB sauce, 3 generous pieces of tender rabbit. We finished the evening with 2 deserts, the Grand Marnier Berries and the Lavender Souffle........so sorry the night ended. You can't go wrong with spending an evening here, it's an experience. Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Pretentious and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The food was paired terribly. Greasy french fries in checkered paper yet well dressed waiters and linen tablecloths. No ambience to speak of. When a person puts out a couple hundred dollars for a meal. One shouldnt have to settle for french fries with the other elegant choices on the menu. If they want to be an elegant restaurant. There are far better options close by
Wont go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchons Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bouchons Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bouchons Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.