We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once is enough.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chinook & Oasis Motel

Save Saved
You added Chinook & Oasis Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Chinook & Oasis Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1884 Gordon Drive, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 3H7, Canada (Central City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 34 hotels in Kelowna
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Once is enough.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed as part of a large group for a sports tournament. The central area and BBQs worked great for team meals. The rooms however...... Ours was a non smoking room but obviously had not always been, the smell was still pretty powerful and it was the same for others in our group. The rooms themselves were pretty dated with thread bare rugs and 80's furniture. The AC sort of worked and kept the room almost cool. We stayed 3 nights and were given one bar of soap the size of a twonie. The included breakfast was not worth the walk to get. Not in a hurry to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    7
    5
    10
See reviews for
18
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed two nights here. We had booked a kingsize room, but realised that the previous guests had been smoking in it (there is a no-smoking policy in rooms) The staff immediately moved us to a Double Queensized bedded room, so we were well pleased. (there were only two of us!) You could pull a concertina style room-divider across between the rooms - this would be excellent for a family (or a friendly four!) It was equipped with a microwave & fridge, & outside was a pool & sun deck. There was Coffee, juice, cereals & bagels available for breakfast in the reception (included) Just across the road there was a De Dutch chain restaurant which did enormous cooked breakfasts, & 5mins walk away, an ABC Country Restaurant.

Room Tip: These were two motels next to each other, now operated as one. We thought the Oasis was more up-mark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reena S, Owner at Chinook & Oasis Motel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello happyhilly47:

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel on Trip Advisor. Providing excellent service to all our guest is our number one priority. We are delighted that you were pleased with our Motel and the amenities. We will continue to provide great service to our guest and we hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Kelowna.

Sincerely,
Aneet Saran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great little motel - nice clean place with outdoor barbecue, pool, etc. Loved the room with the private sleeping area - would be great for a family or 2 couples travelling together. Although we did not take advantage of the facilities, there were a group of fellows using the barbecue and grounds and all seemed to be working nicely for them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reena S, Manager at Chinook & Oasis Motel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel , we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Basic 'old-style' motel. Friendly staff. Bed in standard room was a king and was comfortable. Room, although very out-dated, was clean and had fridge and microwave. Coffee and cereal / muffins available in the lobby in the morning. WiFi in rooms as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reena S, Manager at Chinook & Oasis Motel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we are happy that you find our room to be comfortable and clean. As it relates to our room setting, our rooms are currently undergoing renovation. We are shifting from our traditional style to a more contemporary setting. Satisfying our guest is our number one priority. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Chinook & Oasis motel over the weekend and we had a marvellous experience. Their front desk staffs were extremely welcoming. We got great customer service and the room was very clean and comfortable. The house keeping staffs were super polite and helpful. I really enjoyed my stay and I will be going back in the summer with no hesitation. Keep up the great job team!!:)

Room Tip: Room 222 was very relaxing and we liked the Jacuzzi!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at this place during a wedding in Kelowna in August 2010. It was a great place to stay for the price. We would go again. Wasn't too fancy but had everything you needed plus the staff was really nice! The last day we upgrated to the suite with the jaccuzzi and it was nicer and more private.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

It all looks and sounds great. A nice tree covered BBQ Pit, the swimming pool was a bonus and a putting green for the kids was excellent. But the fact remains that when a family of 5 is staying in any hotel, there should be zero tolerance in regards to drug use by other hotel guests. I know this is BC and all, but I was not impressed that my children got to witness and smell, several adults smoking pot outside their hotel room, only two doors down from ours. My Children were able to smell it, see it, and began to question it. Nothing was done about this, staff walked by on numerous occasions and still nothing was said. This could and should have been a nice family "oasis" but I was very disappointed that the staff kept quiet simply based on the large numbers of this group staying at their hotel. Clearly we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chinook & Oasis Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinook & Oasis Motel

Also Known As:
Chinook & Oasis Hotel Kelowna
Chinook & Oasis Hotel
Chinook And Oasis Motel
Chinook Oasis Hotel
Chinook & Oasis Motel Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Address: 1884 Gordon Drive, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 3H7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chinook & Oasis Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is centrally located off Hwy 97 in Kelowna, BC only minutes from sandy beaches, championship golf courses, and award winning wineries. Our reservations team can help you book: Golf Stay & Play, Wine Tour, and Ski Packages. We have rooms ranging from one or two beds; one bedroom suites with kitchens; two bedroom suites with kitchens; jacuzzi suites. Senior and automobile club membership discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Chinook & Oasis Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinook & Oasis Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.