We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shuswap Lake

Shuswap Lake
Salmon Arm, Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 51 Attractions in Kelowna
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Woodinville, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We rented a houseboat with friends and stayed on the lake. The lake has a ton of shoreline to explore and the scenery is amazing! We drove from Seattle and it was about 7 hours but well worth the drive. The lake is very clean because it cycles itself out often. A must see in British Columbia!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    10
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Herald Park, great campground!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

The Shuswap lake is great, big campsites, Margaret Falls is very scenic and make sure you take the trail up and around the back of the falls too. Signs say it's closed but only because the bridge has a few rotten boards. Easy to get safely around and the bridge is on a couple of feet above the creek.

Lot's of bears in the fall, so be bear smart.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This lake is outstandingly beautiful and the sunrises cannot be beat. We actually stayed closer to Salmon Arm and found the town to have everything we needed for a comfortable and active stay.
It would be a day trip by boat to cover both the big and little Shuswap. We visited for the Salmon run in Lee Creek. Wow was that spectacular. I will review that separately.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Shuswap Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Shuswap Lake is a great place to go fishing, swimming, boating and houseboating. Lots of places to put in when boating and just enjoy the rest and relaxing feeling of the great outdoors. The night sky is very dark and good for stargazing. Shuswap Lake is a large lake so plenty of room and there are some places long the lake with stores you can pull into if you need supplies.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Houseboat holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We hired a houseboat for 4 nights and what a fantastic time we had. The scenery was spectacular and we were lucky that the weather was perfect for our entire time on the lake.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuswap Lake also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Shuswap Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuswap Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.