We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shuswap Lake

Shuswap Lake
781 Marine Park Drive NE | Salmon Arm, Kelowna, British Columbia V1E4P1, Canada
2508335906
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 32 Attractions in Kelowna
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Vancouver
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“nice lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have been here often over the years. Camping as well as staying at our friends cabin. The weather can be very unpredictable at times. Being beautiful one moment and a storm the next..

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    10
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tappen, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shuswap Lake is more than houseboats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Shuswap Lake is a beautiful place to visit with your friends and family. There is more to do that only rent a house boat. You can visit national parks, you can rent a boat, jet ski, kayak or a paddle board. You can go and enjoy farmer markets, eat in beautiful restaurants, visit great wineries... just so much to do... a beautiful place to go :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Scenic, amazing beautiful lake, an adventure to travel on.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Shuswap lake brings excitement to boating from the feeling of exploring and seeing what is around the next bay. I went in May and the lake was calm the entire week. At this time of year the water was low exposing lots of rock and many beaches along the shore. In the background the peaks of the mountains were snow capped. Talked to locals who still had snowmobiling plans. While on the water the temperature was in the 20's Celsius. Few boats out on the water so only met a couple other locals at the boat launch in Canoe so good time of year to use this boat launch. Also with the water is low as it was this was a good boat launch to use. The boat launch is steep and if you have a large boat over 25 ft may take a little to get turned to back down the ramp. Once on the water the water was mostly clear but had to watch out for areas of debris from snow run off. Mostly clear. Definitely suggest heading up Sicamous way and explore the Cinnamousin Narrows and on up the Seymour Arm. I am not going to give anything away but check the local tourism information and keep watch for interesting sites along the way.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Waterways Houseboat on Shuswap Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Shuswap is a massive lake and the best way to see it is to do it by houseboat. This past summer we chose a boat from Waterways houseboat rentals and set off to explore the great lake for 4 days. This was quite frankly one of the best summer vacations I can remember, right back to when I was a kid. My wife, the kids (11 and 13yrs old) and I had a truly enjoyable time unlike any other. My only regret is that it is kind of expensive to do every year.

Being our first trip we set out to explore as much as we could as quick as we could, in hind site we will take it slower next time and enjoy the sites, see what we can and see more the next time. Our favorite part of the lake is from the floating stores up through Seymour Arm. Seymour arm seems to have many more spots to camp and is a little more scenic than the other areas, when we go the next time we will explore some other areas we could not reach and say for sure. Anstey Arm seemed quite limited for places to camp, not a great place to go later in the day as you might not find a place to camp (park) for the night.

Being a boater it did not take me much to adapt to a larger boat, if someone has never done something like this before they'd do well to boat around Mara lake for the day (or part of it) before venturing out through the canal and under the rail bridge off into the big lake. We did have one very stormy night and although it was a little freaky, it just added to the adventure, the biggest thing in a storm is make sure you are beached hard and tied up well!

As a family you do have to be a little more cautious of the partiers out there, getting into shouting matches with drunk people is a total waste of time and you have to use caution as to who you 'beach beside' for the night. This is really a great activity though and being the massive lake that it is it's not hard to find a spot away fro the drunks. The next time, if we do not go camping elsewhere with our travel trailer first we would bring our little boat to tie behind the big boat for skiiing and tubing.
I have marked that there is no fee for this 'attraction', for Shuswap lake there is not not, obviously for the houseboats there is and it is quite pricey.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have been coming to the Shuswap for 14 years now and it never gets old its scenic and truely is a hidden jem to behold. We are scheduled for August 2014 for another 2 week vacation. There is no other lake id rather be on.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuswap Lake also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Shuswap Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuswap Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.