We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“huge lake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shuswap Lake

Shuswap Lake
781 Marine Park Drive NE | Salmon Arm, Kelowna, British Columbia V1E4P1, Canada
2508335906
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 103 things to do in Kelowna
Attraction details
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“huge lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

lots of beaches and camping, ususally very warm and calm, many small towns located around lake so lots of restaurants etc

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    10
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pure serenity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Shuswap Lake have some of the best boating stop by Copper Island and Al's barge for lunch and drinks try to cliff jumping but be careful enjoying all the other boats in the summer for great party around island go to Scotch Creek provincial Park sit on the beach. Best snowmobiling in wintertime at crowsfoot. Cabinbc.com rents a nice place for up to 12 people and has boat launch park and hot tub

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

There is not much more to say, warm water, great fishing, houseboating is a phenomenal experience, if the weather is hot (and it usually is in the summmer) then this is as good as any Large Lake in Canada, maybe the best.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“waterways Houseboats rentals”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

When it comes to boats Waterways really missed the mark.
When it comes to safety Waterways proved they just don't care
When it comes to customer service Waterways and Lenny proved they don't know what this is.

I was so excited to plan this trip with my family from out of province and out of Country. First I must say that this is the year of the big flood and we did not know until 4 days prior to our date of July 15,2012 that boats would be up and running. We had thought about cancelling, but had high hopes that the company would be so excited to be running again that their service would be outstanding. Our out of town guests arrived by 1:30 which was early, but when they checked in with waterways office we were told we would be able to get on the boat early probably between 3:00 and 3:30. We were excited by that news and began to haul all our gear onto the docks. Bare in mind that very few boats were on the water as the season had just opened for them after the flood and the dock was plugged with all their boats just waiting for the guests to start coming. Every half hour we asked where our boat was and when we would get it. We were told they could not identify which boat was ours until it was ready, and that it would be another half hour, another 15 minutes etc. Finally we were told that we were getting a boat that had just been out on the water for 2 day 3 night and they had to clean it.(what? what about all the boats sitting here could we not have one of those??) Again like I said the dock was full of boats, but we had to wait for one to be cleaned.. Long story short we were not on the boat until after 7:00 for our loading and pre inspection. During the inspection we noticed the Slide was broke off at the base. Again instead of giving us another boat they did not weld the slide, but pretty much taped it together with strapping and srews.???really!!!!! At 8:05 they told us we may be too late to get out ( we had paid alot of extra money for this bon voyage package) "we might not make it out in time"!!. at this point we lost it and said if we didn't get ot tonight there would be" hell to pay" I choose Waterways based o the information given on their website and the photos provided. According to their website their 2000 models have certain features and their 2001 have have a sea doo ramps and top deck wet bar. Our model "Goliath"did have the sea doo ramp but not the wet bar. I would say that "Goliath" was just a shell with not one additional feature on board' When I questioned Lenny (customer service) about this after he claimed that every model is different one from another which is not at all how the boats are described on their website. We discovered the next day that one of the showers did not have hot water, We don't think the toilets' sewage had been dumped as we could not sleep with the windows open on night number one as the smell was so bad. We also realized after we were in to our trip that the batteries did not hold a charge and that if you tried to make coffee and something else plugged in at the same time the breaker blew. And on top of that we were several families with small toddlers, and they gave us a boat with no safety gates on the top deck of the stairs and most especially the slide. One of the toddlers could have gone down so easly.
So at the end of our trip we spoke again with Lenny (Customer service) who told us every complaint should have been called in and they would have come out (and not charged $100. if it was an acceptable complaint) we tried to tell him that we worked our way through all those things so as to not have more down time like our bon Voyage fiasco. He did not care about our safety issues with the broken slide or the lack of safety gates on the top deck sticking with his "all the boats are different from each other" which again when I got home I read about the Mirage 65 and all it says is that the 2001 models have a seadoo ramp and wet bar (we had the seadoo ramp thats all) Lenny was unwilling to take any of my concerns seriously,he thought nothing of a broken slide and thought that their make shift fix job was just fine he did not think there was anything wrong, with promising people a boat by a certain time and pushing us back time and time again until we almost didn't make it out. And he thought nothing of having toddlers running aroun d on a boat with no safety gates to prevent them from falling down a steep set of steps or God frobid down the slide. I might even have more patience with everything if it had been a really busy season, but that was not the case.

I have housboated 4 times in the past with no complaints the big difference was we were with Twin Anchors. I would definitely houseboat again, but Waterways can not be trusted with my family again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Waterway houseboats is my absolute favorite holiday out of them all! Ive gone three time, everytime with family and we always had amazing weather!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuswap Lake also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Shuswap Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuswap Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.