We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad at All!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Creek Estate Winery

Cedar Creek Estate Winery
5445 Lakeshore Rd, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 4S5, Canada (Southwest Mission)
250 764 8866
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 105 things to do in Kelowna
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Purchased in 1986, CedarCreek released its first wines in 1987 and was one of the first 8 pioneering wineries of BC. With four generations of agricultural heritage and more than a quarter century of experience, we have pursued perfection and produced some of the valley's best wines resulting in CedarCreek being twice recognized as "Canada's Winery of the Year".Mother nature has been kind to CedarCreek with breathtaking views and excellent growing slopes also making it a gorgeous wedding venue. One can enjoy wine tastings at our year round wine shop, explore the vineyard trail, join in on an educational winery tour, or savour lunch at our seasonal Vineyard Terrace Restaurant.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not Bad at All!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stunning view from the winery, parking beside aisles of grapes is pretty cool too! The wines here were very good, however not the varieties I typically drink so I won't say comment on them much. The white Madeira they make here is delicious though! Wow! Platinum 'M' is its name and I would highly recommend paying the $60 or so for it! Sweet with a lovely bouquet it was easily my favourite wine here. Oh, I almost forgot! The Pinot gris and riesling were very good too! Now that I think of it I actually bought quite a lot from here! I definitely enjoyed their whites more than the reds though and that is my recommendation if you stop here!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarCreekWine, Manager at Cedar Creek Estate Winery, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello Jenks303,

We are the only winery in Canada to make Madeira style wine! Its a long process, with a min 5 year of barrel again required to be done directly under the summer sun, so we haul the barrels out each summer, in if it rains, back out when its hot and then back in for the winter. Five years later you get to have some nectar that is unlike anything else and we are glad you enjoyed it! Anahita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    35
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent visite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice people , excellent visite, very informative, tasting of 4 different type of wines. Nice place also to walk around.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarCreekWine, Manager at Cedar Creek Estate Winery, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Dortrip,

Thank you for visiting and we are glad you liked your wine, people and place!- Anahita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average food but great view and nice staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This restaurant has nice seasonal indigence and features local cuisine, but the menu is limited and a bit expensive for what you get. We tried the Sunday brunch. For two, our bill was $70 and we each had a breakfast sandwich style meal. On the plus, the outdoor patio has a nice view of the lake and the staff do their utmost to make you feel comfortable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarCreekWine, Manager at Cedar Creek Estate Winery, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hello Global Travelor2009,

Thank you for your compliments on our service and the view. I am sorry that the Vineyard Terrace Restaurant serving portions did not meet your expectations. The Sunday Brunch features menu items from $8 and the most expensive item on the menu is at $16 which is eggs benedict and is served with home made hash browns. Having between 10-12 items on the brunch menu helps us best serve fresh local ingredients and we also offer a 'special of the day' that showcases ingredients we may have gotten that particular day! We thank you for your review and hope to see you again!- Anahita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Best wine in the okanagan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Not much to do here except try some of the best wine in the Okanagan, and my personal favourite their Pinot Noir. Unfortuatly tours are rare and there is no resturant open whenever i was there. I dont think there is one but I am not sure.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarCreekWine, Manager at Cedar Creek Estate Winery, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello Jbarbs8,

We're happy to hear that you find our wines among the best in the Okanagan. Being one of BC's first 8 wineries and 25 having years of experience has definitely helped! We do winery tours at 11am, 1pm & 3pm daily from May 1 through to the 1st week of Oct and our Vineyard Terrace restaurant serves lunch and weekend brunch from 11am to 4pm daily, Mid June to Mid September. We hope you will be able to join us on a tour or to enjoy lunch next season! Thank you for your review- Anahita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Winery Dining at its Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I were officially the last dining guests of the 2012 season last week on a beautiful warm September day. There were a few other individuals who came to dine after us, but we lingered longer savoring the excellent Cedar Creek wines, the spectacular lake view from the Terrace Restaurant. We also enjoyed every single mouthful of the exquisite meal which was perfectly paired with an accompanying glass (in our case Pinot Gris and Pinot Noir). Our attentive server was another exceptional complement to a most enjoyable Sunday lunch.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarCreekWine, Manager at Cedar Creek Estate Winery, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello RK502,

Thank you for your compliments on our wines, cuisine, setting and service. We used to close the Vineyard Terrace Restaurant at the end of every second week in September but the weather has been so good these past couple of years that we have now moved the closing to the end of the third week, glad we did that and had you join us.
Thank you for your visit and review- Anahita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Creek Estate Winery also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Cedar Creek Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Creek Estate Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.