We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick stop over in kelowna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BC Wine Museum & VQA Wine Shop

BC Wine Museum & VQA Wine Shop
1304 Ellis St, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 1Z8, Canada
250-868-0441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 32 Attractions in Kelowna
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The BC Wine Museum & VQA Wine Shop was opened 15 years ago with the intention to bring the history of the Okanagan Wine Region to the public, as well as to help teach the public about the vast wine industry in BC. Our shop sells BC Vintners Quality Alliance wines; which is a guarantee that you’re purchasing 100% BC Wine. We sell at winery prices and carry over 600 listings of wine from over 90 wineries. When you purchase wine from the BCVQA Wine Shop, not only are you supporting the Kelowna Museums Society, but you are also supporting local VQA Wineries.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A quick stop over in kelowna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We didnt have time to tour the wineries so we stopped by the VQA store, that was a great place to grab some wine from the area and get information about the wineries.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Representation of BC Wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Along with some interesting wine history, the museum offers random tastings of BC wines and offers a selection of wines from a great number of wineries throughout BC. Enjoy

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must stop to get your BC wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stop here whenever we are in Kelowna because it is the best place to get the local wines without having to run out to our favorite wineries. The staff is always very helpful, and willing to make great recommendations.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
124 attraction reviews
Reviews in 196 cities Reviews in 196 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Best place to buy wine in Kelowna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We always drop by here on any visit to Kelowna and are always treated well by friendly and knowledgeable staff. They always have a few wines for tasting and then a great selection of Okanagan wines arranged by vineyard. They also have a few nice gift items. The shop is housed in a gorgeous renovated historic building and there are some interesting wine related relics to see inside. It might not be a 'museum' but they don't charge any admission either so what you see, you see for free and with a wine tasting to boot - doesn't get much better as far as I'm concerned! The apple 'museum' next door has a great real bee hive display.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not really a museum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Not really a museum at all more like a wine shop. Very few artifacts or history. Nice wines to buy though and friendly assistants.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BC Wine Museum & VQA Wine Shop also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to BC Wine Museum & VQA Wine Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BC Wine Museum & VQA Wine Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.