We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a museum” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BC Wine Museum & VQA Wine Shop

BC Wine Museum & VQA Wine Shop
1304 Ellis St, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 1Z8, Canada
250-868-0441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 32 Attractions in Kelowna
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The BC Wine Museum & VQA Wine Shop was opened 15 years ago with the intention to bring the history of the Okanagan Wine Region to the public, as well as to help teach the public about the vast wine industry in BC. Our shop sells BC Vintners Quality Alliance wines; which is a guarantee that you’re purchasing 100% BC Wine. We sell at winery prices and carry over 600 listings of wine from over 90 wineries. When you purchase wine from the BCVQA Wine Shop, not only are you supporting the Kelowna Museums Society, but you are also supporting local VQA Wineries.
Calgary, Ab
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not a museum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a wine store in a nice building in downtown Kellowna. My family and I were looking forward to seeing and learning something about wine - its production, characteristics and history, but were disappointed with this place. It had a little display at the back of the store with a few casks on the wall and a few posters about some local wineries. Kellowna has an interesting wine history but this is not where you are going to learn about it.

As far as a wine store, it seemed to have a good selection of the local offerings and was pleasant enough. But it isn't a museum. Ratings reflect the fact that it bills itself as something it isn't.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Convenient with a large variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The Wine Museum is about one block from the Delta (Grand Hotel). There is free parking on the side of the building as well as on the street out front. Most of the wineries in the area seem to be represented so there is a lot to choose from. The staff is very helpful and so far have not steered me wrong. There are tastings every weekend and often during the week. Additionally, they have a small assortment of cheese and chilled wine.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place to buy wine in Kelowna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

If you find yourself downtown in Kelowna you must visit the BC Wine Museum. Not only is there tastings, you will find the best of the best and even the affordable selctions of BC wine here. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Take your time and ask questions, a great place to start or finish your wine tour of the Okanagan!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Laurel Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Interesting stuff and great wine tastings in a heritage building.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Museum?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Tripadvisor sent me a list of local places to review. I've got some time to kill...so what the hell. These ones popped up on the list so here goes...

I haven't been to the "Museum" for some time. We drop by occassionally with out of town friends if we are walking in the (Lack of) "Cultural District". Other than a few old bottles that is rivalled by the collection in the back of my Dad's garage, I pretty much think this is a wine store.

Let me check the dictionary for "Museum".

Well...I was right...lets call this the Wine Store...cuz a museum it ain't. Unless it changed in the past year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BC Wine Museum & VQA Wine Shop also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to BC Wine Museum & VQA Wine Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BC Wine Museum & VQA Wine Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.