We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reisling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tantalus Vineyards

Tantalus Vineyards
1670 Dehart Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 4N6, Canada
1-877-764-0078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 105 things to do in Kelowna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tantalus Vineyards is located in Southeast Kelowna on the eastern slopes of the Okanagan Valley, British Columbia.Spectacular lake views, an historic old vineyard and our new state-of-the-art LEED winery make visiting Tantalus Vineyards a one-of-a-kind experience. Enjoy premium, single-vineyard wines in a stunning gallery-style tasting room, surrounded by works of art from some of Canada's most highly-acclaimed artists.We are open year round, please check our website for hours and directions.
Lake Country, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Reisling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have just found my new favorite white wine. Lots of apple notes but wonderfully balanced. We had the wine at lunch today at the Yellow House and we are looking forward to a visit to the winery this weekend. If the rest of their wines are as good, the wine cellar will see a few more bottles added.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, General Manager at Tantalus Vineyards, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks very much for your comments on our Riesling! Balance is very important and it's something we, like all quality wine producers, try to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful whites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Weve been to this winery at an earlier time and like the upgrade. The wine label and consistency of the Reisling are world class. A wonderful wine to share but one must enjoy it too. The shop has a great view (few gifts) and is a lovely quick visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, General Manager at Tantalus Vineyards, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments! We're pleased you approve of our new LEED certified winery and your comment about our Riesling is very kind. With regard to the gift items, we try to keep the focus on our wines but visitors can also purchase high quality take away items like jars of our vineyard honey, logo'd corkscrews etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best wines we tasted in Okanagan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The tasting room at Tantalus is designed as a gallery with the lake view as the picture window and would be ideal for a small wedding party.

The host (canadian wife of owner) was very knowedgeable of her wines and took us through the range slowly and in detail. It was apparent from the taste of the wines and her information that her husband had experience in New Zealand, SE Australia and France before settling in Kelowna to make these fabulous wines.

We ordered Tantalus rose at the Waterfront Restaurant that evening and were not disappointed

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, General Manager at Tantalus Vineyards, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
Best wines in the Okanagan....we'll take it! And yes, we do weddings too! Many thanks for your kind words. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Wine Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We arrived early at this winery but we were made most welcome
Our experience was very positive

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, General Manager at Tantalus Vineyards, responded to this review, October 16, 2014
It's always great to hear from a satisfied customer. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Name meets expirience! I wanted more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

They were the most accomidating and helpful with planning my tour! I cannot say enough to praise this winery! They were accomidating with the tasting and opened an extra bottle, just because I was curious. Ended up bringing home more than I normally do as everything I tried was so good! They had excellent recomendations of what else to do in the area. I followed all their advice and had a wonderful weekend! Definately would make the drive again!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, General Manager at Tantalus Vineyards, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
It was our pleasure to assist with your Kelowna tour itinerary and we're super happy you enjoyed the hiddent treasures we recommended. Many thanks for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantalus Vineyards also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Tantalus Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantalus Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.