We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trestle walk or bike ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Myra Canyon Park

Myra Canyon Park
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
250-491-9359
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 117 things to do in Kelowna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Trestle walk or bike ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The old Kettle Valley railway ran alongside the walls of Myra Canyon, & where it crossed valleys it went over marvellous trestle bridges. (18 of them!) Volunteers spent years restoring them, so that you can walk or cycle the route (also OK for wheelchairs.) Then they had a terrible forest fire in 2003 which destroyed or damaged several trestles, & they had to start all over again.Highly recommended - very photogenic.You do need a car to get to the car parks at each end of the route, & the one up to the old Myra Station is unpaved & twisting, but worth the effort for the end result

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    69
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Natural Disaster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Bikes we rented were fine but not great...some maintenance would go a long way...ie gears don't shift properly etc. Ad says bikes start at $8.00 but thats if you are a midget who weighs 30 lbs. Bikes are actually $40.00 each for four hours. But there is no need for four hours because a rock fell and took out one of the trestles partially so the ride only becomes about a six kilometer ride one way before you have to turn around. People who ride a lot will be disappointed with the short ride due to the natural disaster.....families and inexperienced riders might be satisfied...one thing is for sure.....the views are incredible!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
71 attraction reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Beautiful nature walk and biking area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

You will drive the last few kilometers on an unpaved forest road, but Myra Canyon is offering sweeping views over valley and forest,and the city seems far away. There are no concessions,so if you plan a longer walk, bring water/snacks,and wear sturdy walking shoes. Suitable for spring,summer and fall outings.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing but go prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We walked a few km on the trestle, and it was truly amazing! The views were spectacular, the path was easy, and we were happy we did it. But, you should know that it's 8 km up a rough road by car to get to the parking area (we were glad we had our Jeep), and there are no services or facilities other than a washroom (pit toilet). Be sure to take your own water, snacks, etc. and carry in a small pack on the trail. The day we went was showery, and we were glad we had rain jackets with hoods. Others on the trail without jackets or hats got soaked to the skin. Summertime, hats would be a priority!

If the fellow who rents bikes up at the trail head sold water, single-use rain ponchos or bags of nuts he'd probably make a bunch of money!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“At least once in your life experience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Cycle or hike..it is an amazing, unique experience..the scenery is world class and with only a railway grade of 2% it is accessible for most cyclists.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myra Canyon Park also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Myra Canyon Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myra Canyon Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.