We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Ride for all Ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Myra Canyon Bike Rentals

Myra Canyon Bike Rentals
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 878-8763
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 102 Activities in Kelowna
Type: Tours, Gear rentals
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ride for all Ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We went with a 2 year old in a chariot, a 5 year old pedalling himself, 3 older teenagers, 2 adults, and a 70 year old grandmother. All enjoyed themselves. I had done this ride before the fire and thought it would be barren this time around, but it was quite lovely; far more trees and growth than I expected. There were about 18 trestles and two tunnels plus unilmited scenery. The entire ride took us about 2 1/2 - 3 hours of pedalling on almost flat terrain.

Having bike rentals on the hill was great, but be sure to reserve the day ahead of time so you won't have to wait. Picking up and dropping off the bikes was effortless and fairly priced. It was great having bikes right there, ready to go and not hauling anything up and down the hill. The rental place also had some snacks to buy, but we packed our own picnic lunch.

On hotter days you definately want to get there first thing in the morning (9:00 am). HIking is also nice, but we didn't see any hikers who made the full distance and it is worth going all the way around.

There are interesting points of history on the trail, many places to stop and take pictures, have a snack, or sit on a bench and rest.

There is no fee for the park/hike/trail, just for the bike rentals.

We would all go again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Bucket List Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Route is easy and flat.Great views. Bike rental costs are reasonable friendly staff.
Water & snacks available

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Just came back from kelowna and did the biking at Myra canyon. Spectacular views, amazing experience. It took my sons and I about 2 1/2 - 3 hours to do the 12.5 km round trip. A little harder coming back than going but no big hills so fairly easy to do. You can also rent bikes from two charming young men, Martin and Ryan and they also sell snacks and water or you can bring your own lunch and have a picnic on one of the many benches along the way and enjoy the spectacular views.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun and impressing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I went there with my Family ( Father more than 50 years old, bro and sister in the 20's )
We spent a morning there, The track is pretty impressive, you will learn more about the history the rocks and more and more. the track is easy to pedal, no high elevation. Bring a rain coat just in case ! The rain catch us, and we get dirty ( for us not a big deal ) but still not fun if you aren't prepare for this. You can go on, and on on this track , there are rest area where you can enjoy the view, squirrels ( kind of what ever ) will eat in your hand if you are patient ( But I don't think we are suppose to feed them ).

don't forget your bottle of water.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A great outdoor adventure for any Kelowna visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

First time at Myra Canyon. An excellent and easy 24 km return cycle. Route is easy and flat but has spectacular views of the surrounding valley and regrowth areas from the 2003 fire. The route has 2 tunnels to cycle through which makes for an exciting kick. Bike rentals are well priced and staff is very accommodating and friendly. Reccommended for couples, friends and family or heading to it for a solo run. Takes 2-3 hours to complete! Bottle of water and a hat advised for the hot days.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myra Canyon Bike Rentals also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Penticton, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Myra Canyon Bike Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myra Canyon Bike Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.