We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“going downhill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3762 Lakeshore Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3L4, Canada (South Pandosy - K.L.O.)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
kamloops canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“going downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We rented a 2 bedroom villa for 2 couples. The first couple showed up in the morning and were told the villa would be ready at approximately 12:30. We came back as a group at approximately 12:45 and the room was not ready. This was fine. All we really wanted at that point was to park one of the two cars. The parking lot is small and was full so we asked if we could park in the driveway of the villa we were to rent. The front desk clerk was uncertain. She did not know if we could and if the parking was capable of holding two cars eventually. She really was unknowledgeable of the property. Eventually they said o.k. to parking so we went to the villa and found the last guest was still parked in the driveway. We called the front desk to confirm we had the right villa number... we did so we parked on the street in front of the villa. We went for lunch and one hour later got a phone call from the front desk that we needed to return because our car was blocking another vehicle (which wasn't possible). We did return and found our car alone in the lane with nothing around it. Since we were there anyway and saw the cleaning crew in our unit, we asked how much longer they estimated. We were told approximately another 20 minutes, which was fine. We left for an hour and then went to the front desk to see if we could check in as the cleaning crew had obviously left our villa. My husband was told there was a process and we would have to wait til they checked with the supervisor. My husband waited 20 minutes in the lobby during which time they front desk staff made no effort to confirm if the room was ready. It was now 3:30 and our room had clearly been ready for an hour. This is terrible customer service.
They've renovated a very good existing restaurant which is now more family friendly. I hate it. The wonderful breakfast and efficient staff have been replaced by a small breakfast buffet. Good value but limited choice. The design of the new restaurant does not make the best use of the lakeview. The new bar seems dark, small and an afterthought.
The villa cleanliness was only so so. The carpets seemed old. Nice view of the lake and nice little patio outside.
Overall, I can get inefficient unknowledgeable staff and treatment anywhere. We'll not be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    218
    82
    34
    14
See reviews for
200
159
15
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I went to this place for his birthday. Found out it was recently renovated and had new kitchen and serving staff.
We found the prices to be a bit high for what we were served. Our flatbread pizza was also a bit wet and doughy. The wine did have a good selection and the cocktail list was neat.
Not to sure if we just came at a weird timing, but staff seemed a bit flustered and unsure of what they were doing.

We may wait a bit and go try it again to see how everything is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Came into town on Thursday night, and had stayed at the Best Western on the west side the first night, and then stayed at the Manteo Friday and Saturday night, with a huge group all in town for a wedding. I found the Manteo grossly over priced for what they had to offer. The room we stayed in was average, one of the bath robes and one of the bath towels on the first night had tattered edges, there was mildew spots all over the shower, and our room was very dark and had a view of a parking lot, when friends of ours had a lake view room for the same price. The restaurant, "Smack Dab" served a great lunch, the food was delicious, however was not at all equipped to serve the breakfast buffet to a full hotel. After we checked out we noticed an extra 50+ dollars in "taxes" not just GST and PST but a "Hotel tax" and also an "Additional night tax" I understand if these are valid taxes, however when the room was reserved I made sure to ask if there are any hidden charges, as we have been charged extra "resort fees" at hotels before, and just wanted to make sure to stick to budget, and was not told of these from the front desk staff. Out of the 3 front desk staff I dealt with while there, two were very friendly, and informative, and one was downright rude, and almost snooty. I would not recommend staying at this hotel again, although the grounds and the facility is gorgeous, and their is a beautiful view from the lake view rooms, it is not worth nearly what you pay to stay there. Two nights and one room service breakfast cost us over 530 dollars. Not impressed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom villa and was happy. The accommodation itself was nice, clean, spacious. The grounds are located right on the lake, with a few pools and a great activity center. The breakfast buffet at “smack dab” – the hotels’ restaurant was a nice surprise – well priced and very good quality. For lunch and dinner there are a few other good options within walking distance. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Manteo for her birthday. Over all it is a comfortable place to stay in Kelowna. When I made the reservation, I mentioned it was my wife's birthday surprise and they had a bottle of wine and a card waiting for her in the room. We didn't dine at their restaurant because of the reviews that we read. It was a very clean resort with good service and comfortable quiet rooms. The only negative we have is the elevator. There is only one and it is very slow. It did break down as well. If your coming down to the lobby you have to take one of the stairways that lead you out doors, not to the lobby. Turns out it's pouring rain when you get out there. Not to much fun. Elevator and stair system not to well thought out.

Room Tip: Book a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

stayed several nights. Beautiful setting and resort. Facilities are great, everything you could need. Attended a conference, banquet facilities were great, employees great. All meals in diningroom were great! All around great! Stayed in a two-bedroom villa....when can I move in?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest - thank you for taking the time to let us & others know about your recent stay with us. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay & liked it so much that you would like to move in! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Manteo beach resort has one of the best locations in Kelowna. We love the restaurant for both its food and ambience, The rooms are nice although the balconies are small with cheap furniture. The service in the hotel is excellent and we enjoyed the pool and boardwalk. One day, I was sitting by the pool in the heat and the staff came along with free smoothies for all the guests. Wheelchair accessibility at this resort is very good.

Room Tip: Street side can be a bit noisy in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review - we are happy to read that you enjoy staying with us. We do like to provide unexpected surprises and glad to hear that you were treated to a complimentary smoothie during one of your stays! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas

Address: 3762 Lakeshore Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3L4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
#5 Family Hotel in Kelowna
#6 Business Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelowna’s Manteo Resort is beautifully located on the shores of Okanagan Lake, only minutes from downtown, championship golf courses, estate wineries, and ski hills. At Manteo, amenities are plentiful with indoor/outdoor pools and hot tubs, kids water park, saunas, movie theatre, fitness center, tennis court, 9-hole putting green, playground, private beach and boat moorage. Accommodations are superb and provide the highest standards of comfort in spacious Deluxe Guestrooms, Premium One Bedroom Suites and in private Two & Three Bedroom Villas, located only steps from the lake.Our 102 unit full service resort features waterfront meeting & conference facilities, ideal for groups up to 200. Meeting & event facilities are perfect for meetings, retreats and banquets. The Waterfront Ballroom will accommodate up to 200 people and is divisible into three separate rooms to accommodate smaller meetings and breakout sessions. All facilities have a lakeview, with floor to ceiling windows in each room, which offers an elegant, yet comfortable setting to relax and enjoy.Manteo’s Clubhouse is located only a short walk from the main hotel. From casual to elegant, our Library and Upper Lounge are ideal for private receptions, meetings and events for up to 100 guests. The facilities include a pool table, big screen television, bar service area and a large outdoor patio with breathtaking views of Okanagan Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel And Villas
Manteo Hotel Waterfront
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.