We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3762 Lakeshore Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3L4, Canada (South Pandosy - K.L.O.)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Victoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Came into town on Thursday night, and had stayed at the Best Western on the west side the first night, and then stayed at the Manteo Friday and Saturday night, with a huge group all in town for a wedding. I found the Manteo grossly over priced for what they had to offer. The room we stayed in was average, one of the bath robes and one of the bath towels on the first night had tattered edges, there was mildew spots all over the shower, and our room was very dark and had a view of a parking lot, when friends of ours had a lake view room for the same price. The restaurant, "Smack Dab" served a great lunch, the food was delicious, however was not at all equipped to serve the breakfast buffet to a full hotel. After we checked out we noticed an extra 50+ dollars in "taxes" not just GST and PST but a "Hotel tax" and also an "Additional night tax" I understand if these are valid taxes, however when the room was reserved I made sure to ask if there are any hidden charges, as we have been charged extra "resort fees" at hotels before, and just wanted to make sure to stick to budget, and was not told of these from the front desk staff. Out of the 3 front desk staff I dealt with while there, two were very friendly, and informative, and one was downright rude, and almost snooty. I would not recommend staying at this hotel again, although the grounds and the facility is gorgeous, and their is a beautiful view from the lake view rooms, it is not worth nearly what you pay to stay there. Two nights and one room service breakfast cost us over 530 dollars. Not impressed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    218
    82
    34
    14
See reviews for
200
159
15
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom villa and was happy. The accommodation itself was nice, clean, spacious. The grounds are located right on the lake, with a few pools and a great activity center. The breakfast buffet at “smack dab” – the hotels’ restaurant was a nice surprise – well priced and very good quality. For lunch and dinner there are a few other good options within walking distance. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Manteo for her birthday. Over all it is a comfortable place to stay in Kelowna. When I made the reservation, I mentioned it was my wife's birthday surprise and they had a bottle of wine and a card waiting for her in the room. We didn't dine at their restaurant because of the reviews that we read. It was a very clean resort with good service and comfortable quiet rooms. The only negative we have is the elevator. There is only one and it is very slow. It did break down as well. If your coming down to the lobby you have to take one of the stairways that lead you out doors, not to the lobby. Turns out it's pouring rain when you get out there. Not to much fun. Elevator and stair system not to well thought out.

Room Tip: Book a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

stayed several nights. Beautiful setting and resort. Facilities are great, everything you could need. Attended a conference, banquet facilities were great, employees great. All meals in diningroom were great! All around great! Stayed in a two-bedroom villa....when can I move in?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest - thank you for taking the time to let us & others know about your recent stay with us. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay & liked it so much that you would like to move in! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Manteo beach resort has one of the best locations in Kelowna. We love the restaurant for both its food and ambience, The rooms are nice although the balconies are small with cheap furniture. The service in the hotel is excellent and we enjoyed the pool and boardwalk. One day, I was sitting by the pool in the heat and the staff came along with free smoothies for all the guests. Wheelchair accessibility at this resort is very good.

Room Tip: Street side can be a bit noisy in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review - we are happy to read that you enjoy staying with us. We do like to provide unexpected surprises and glad to hear that you were treated to a complimentary smoothie during one of your stays! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and rooms where nice with great beds, it is just too bad we recieved such poor service.

When I made the reservation I informed the reservations agent I would be traveling with my wife and it was around the times of both our birthdays, a chance to mix in a little getaway with work. Her answer was they where busy that week.

The day before we where to check in, we where passing through kelowna and my wife stopped into the resort and inquired if there was a upgrade. The only upgrade available was a bit more than we wanted to pay. She then mentioned it was our birthdays and we where getting away from the kids could they try and save us a nicer room.
She was quite rudley told they where busy.

When we checked in the next day, we got a room over looking the parking lot. we stopped off at front desk to mention we where not happy with our room, there was a supervisor on the desk, and again their only response was they where busy that week.

So we spent our getaway sleeping in seperate beds over looking the parking lot, not what we where looking for.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest. I am sorry to read about your recent stay with us. We do try to make every possible effort to ensure that all guests have a memorable stay and we do go above & beyond to ensure that guests are recognized for special celebrations, including birthdays, anniversaries, etc. As you noted, when you wife stopped in to ask about a complimentary upgrade - as we were busy, we could not guarantee it without you booking an upgraded room. When you arrived, a complimentary upgrade was just available due to the high occupancy levels at the Resort. We are sorry that you feel that this was taken as poor customer service, however, we are not always able to make changes during high occupancy dates. We hope that you will return & stay with us again at a future date.

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed in the 2 bedroom lakeside villa then moved to a 1 bedroom in the main building. Villa was steps away from the little private beach. Beautiful view. Updated villa with comfy beds and well equipped kitchen.

Staff at the resort were excellent. Friendly and accommodating. They moved us from one suite to another during our stay (our request due not needing a 2 bedroom for half the days) and they made the move while we were out, unpacked food from fridge, put the fruit into a bowl, chilled our wine, etc. very thoughtful and easy. Very accommodating. One bedroom suit was efficient but not as high end or modern as the Villas.

Restaurant food was good. In the peak of summer may be noisy with a giant new lakeside patio. Newly opened restaurant and patio has great (wood burn) pizza. Great facilities/amenities. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us & how much you enjoyed both the rooms that you stayed in. We are glad to hear that you also enjoyed our new restaurant, Smack DAB, including the "Crazy Good Pizza" that we have to offer! We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas

Address: 3762 Lakeshore Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3L4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
#5 Family Hotel in Kelowna
#6 Business Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelowna’s Manteo Resort is beautifully located on the shores of Okanagan Lake, only minutes from downtown, championship golf courses, estate wineries, and ski hills. At Manteo, amenities are plentiful with indoor/outdoor pools and hot tubs, kids water park, saunas, movie theatre, fitness center, tennis court, 9-hole putting green, playground, private beach and boat moorage. Accommodations are superb and provide the highest standards of comfort in spacious Deluxe Guestrooms, Premium One Bedroom Suites and in private Two & Three Bedroom Villas, located only steps from the lake.Our 102 unit full service resort features waterfront meeting & conference facilities, ideal for groups up to 200. Meeting & event facilities are perfect for meetings, retreats and banquets. The Waterfront Ballroom will accommodate up to 200 people and is divisible into three separate rooms to accommodate smaller meetings and breakout sessions. All facilities have a lakeview, with floor to ceiling windows in each room, which offers an elegant, yet comfortable setting to relax and enjoy.Manteo’s Clubhouse is located only a short walk from the main hotel. From casual to elegant, our Library and Upper Lounge are ideal for private receptions, meetings and events for up to 100 guests. The facilities include a pool table, big screen television, bar service area and a large outdoor patio with breathtaking views of Okanagan Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel And Villas
Manteo Hotel Waterfront
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.