We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay - Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3762 Lakeshore Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3L4, Canada (South Pandosy - K.L.O.)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
British Columbia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Second Stay - Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Mom's 89th birthday and although I'd mentioned it by phone when I reserved, I didn't expect it would be noted. It was, with a lovely card and fresh cookies in our room. And the woman who checked us in asked which of us was the birthday girl and provided personal wishes. My Mom was thrilled. Our waterfront room was exactly what I'd booked, the room was quiet and graciously appointed.
What I wish this hotel would add - a plastic shower cap or a handheld shower head so we didn't have to get our hair wet when we showered, one more pouch of coffee or a note saying additional coffee was available near the front desk (their restaurant is closed just now so we had to go out for breakfast) and one more facecloth. (two women, one facecloth - not enough)
Loved walking on the boardwalk, enjoyed our room and watching the birds on the lake, hospitality was great and parking was free and within a half block of the door. The Delta has slightly larger rooms and yes, it's more elegant in the reception area but you pay to park and the service is of the crisp, efficient, impersonal kind. Kudos to Manteo for keeping it real.

Room Tip: Ask for the fourth floor lakeside - ask if there are athletic teams in (it's near a major recrea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review - so happy to read that you came & stayed with us for your mom's 80th birthday - what fantastic memories that were shared & created and happy that we were part of it! The new restaurant, Smack DAB, just opened on March 18th - I hope you will have the opportunity to come back again at a future date to try it out.

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    218
    82
    34
    14
See reviews for
200
159
15
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Langley, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A disappointing stay as I had heard great things from others who had been here before. We had a lakeside 2 bedroom villa and I thought it was over priced ($285 per night plus tax, corporate rate) considering the fact that we were there in the deepest part of the off season. In addition, the restaurant was closed for renovation and the outside facilities are of no use in January. The fact that we were offered a (1) cold breakfast box when there were 3 adults staying was adding insult to injury. I would suggest that the only way to enjoy a stay here is if somebody else is picking up the tab.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you did not think that there was value in the room that you booked. You are correct that our restaurant was closed - we have recently opened our new restaurant, Smack DAB, and we are now offering daily Chef attended buffet breakfast, which replaces the breakfast boxes that we previously offered to our corporate travelers. Hotel guests can now have breakfast for $8.00 (adults) and $4.00 (kids 10 & under).

We do hope that you will reconsider and stay with us again during a future trip to Kelowna.

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

While on business travel, now and again stay an extra day to smell the roses. I was planning to stay at the major downtown hotel where I am a member and last-minute decided to look for something more quaint. I came across the Manteo by accident but was much impressed. Maybe I was exhausted, but I found the bed way too comfortable! --it was difficult to get up in the morning! No Manteo restaurant because of renovations brought me to the adjacent ElDorado Hotel and restaurant, which is a much older hotel which lots of charm and (apparent) history to it. Both are essentially on the waterfront of Lake Okonogan and a marina which I am sure is very busy on the hot days of summer. This was February. Not so many bikinis. But a lovely visit. Nice restaurant and lounge across the street called "Cabanas" --a rare find! In all, this is a lovely spot of busy Kelowna! I will return when the weather is hot.

Room Tip: Visit again when the restaurant is completed. The experience isn't full until then. Luckily the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent trip to Kelowna. In the summer (open May-September) months, we do have 2 additional outdoor pools, which do offer a variety to the indoor pool. We are also located less than 5 minutes from H20 Fitness & Adventure Center, which is Kelowna's largest pool, featuring waterslides, pools, and surf simulator - discounted passes are available at the front desk. Hope to see you return back to Manteo Resort again at a future date!

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

we enjoyed staying in the well appointed suites on this lakeside resort. Restaurant in the resort is also pretty good. i was not too impressed by the pool situation - the pool should be larger fro this type of resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent trip to Kelowna. In the summer (open May-September) months, we do have 2 additional outdoor pools, which do offer a variety to the indoor pool. We are also located less than 5 minutes from H20 Fitness & Adventure Center, which is Kelowna's largest pool, featuring waterslides, pools, and surf simulator - discounted passes are available at the front desk. Hope to see you return back to Manteo Resort again at a future date!

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My lover and I stayed 2 nights at the Manteo on January 2 2013. We stayed in the Delux King room and the bed was very comfortable. They offer free DVD movie rentals which was nice. The restaurant was closed for reno's and we couldnt eat there or order room service so that would have been nice to know before booking. They offer a free continental breakfast, but I would be embarrassed to offer it to guests...consisted of a few croissants, muffins and yogurt. You have to walk outside to get to the pool; would have been okay in the summer but it was freezing in the winter and that put a damper on the swimming and hot tub experience. Staff was nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay. We are sorry that you were not informed about the closure of the restaurant during our renovations. The continental breakfast that you had was something that we had offered complimentary during this time that we were closed. We hope that you will return at a future date to experience all that Manteo Resort has to offer.

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Manteo is well located to several wineries and smaller tourist draws, such as a goat farm where you can sample handmade cheese, a Kangaroo farm (which is an amazing side-trip and a must do if you have kids).

Upon arrival, we parked near the lobby and waited a few minutes before being able to begin the check-in process. We had booked a 3 bedroom unit (which was available to us), but I found out that there was no water-view... which meant it would be facing the parking lot. I asked if it was possible to get a water-view, if we downgraded our room to a two bedroom, and after a few trips behind the check-in area (perhaps to consult with a manager), they said they could do that. However, there was something either wrong with their computer system, or the person was too new to understand how to make the change. She kept waiting to interrupt her co-worker (who was checking someone else in) for help. This process took about 25 minutes before we finally got our room keys and remote for the garage. So not off to a great start, but I was happy to be getting that lake view room.

When we got to our unit, I can best describe it as looking like a townhome, dominated by the garage with your front door immediately to the left, and neighbours on either side. Having a private garage was great though -- I have never had that in a timeshare unit before. There is a small entry way (from the front door or the garage), and then you climb a flight of stairs to the living room. The living room has approx. 20 ft. celings, sofa and chairs, fireplace and a large flatscreen TV with DVD player. More than that though, from this room with a wall of windows, you can walk directly out on to your patio which is a stones throw from the water. Literally you could walk 10 paces and be in the water. Perfect! From the living room, it was a split-level with a few stairs up to the kitchen dining area. The kitchen was well-equipped, and the kitchen level also had the laundry area and a powder-room. The kitchen-dining area looks over the living room and the view to outside as well. This is a really nice layout (if you don't mind the stairs).

Going up from the kitchen are both bedrooms. The master has a King size bed, walk-through closet, a small deck overlooking the water, an armoire concealing the TV, and a spacious bathroom with his and her sinks, separate shower and soaker-tub. The second bedroom had a queen size bed, TV and a smaller bathroom with shower. The finishes in the townhome were not as luxurious and modern as the newer Marriotts or Starwoods, but everything was in great condition, attractive and not dated looking (just a little on the traditional-side).

The wooden deck was a nice place to sit and get visited by the ducks who were hoping for hand-outs. My youngest daughter enjoyed feeding them, and they would be there every morning like clockwork. Our unit also had its own barbecue, which was great -- we grilled several nights while enjoying the water view.

The only service we used from the resort, is the lending library of DVDs. It is free, and they give you a list when you arrive of everything available. They do have a small movie theatre in the main building, but we didn't use it -- our big screen in the living room was perfect for our entertainment needs.

And now for the bad. This resort clearly does a lot of business as a hotel and attracts large groups -- there was a hockey tournament, a business conference and a wedding there during the week we stayed. Some of the older guys from one or more of the hockey teams, were loud and obnoxious at the pool -- and had been asked to leave as they were still there when it closed. They left briefly, then a group came back to 'sneak' in the pool. This outdoor pool is right near many of the waterfront units and you can hear everything. I had to call the front desk about this, and another noisy-neighbours complaint at 3am -- people outside on their deck, drunk and singing, playing music and being general idiots. It is hard not to have those experiences taint my impressions of this resort, as I was feeling it was attracting a down-market crowd (to put it nicely). Usually in timeshares, I find that owners are generally respectful of other guests and the rules of their 'home away from home'. I realize that the majority of people at the tournament were perfectly civilized and respectful ... but the adults in charge clearly didn't have control over their whole group or keep their teens to curfews.

If you want to be in the area, the units are great -- the atmosphere may not be as serene as the setting it is in.

Room Tip: A view of the water is ideal, but the farther away from the pool area and main building may be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. You provided a great visual of the layout for the Villa - as you have noted, it is very spacious and the beachfront units are literally located, as you mentioned, "a stone’s throw away from the lake".

We are sorry that you did experience some disturbances from other hotel guests. We do have full time security and in cases such as you experienced, we do advise guests that we are family resort and that noise should be kept to a minimum. Again, we apologize that you experienced this during your stay - it is definitely not a regular occurrence at the Resort.
We hope to see you again at a future date.

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent two nights at the Manteo Resort as part of a hockey tournament. We stayed in a two bedroom suite, which is a very comfortable and spacious three level villa with a separate living room on one floor, full kitchen, bathroom and laundry a half-floor up, and two bedrooms and two bathrooms on the upper floor. We paid $109 per night, including taxes, which I think was a giant upgrade because we were the team coach and manager.

The staff were very accommodating with arrangements for the team to store equipment. They also gave us access to the movie room so we could hold a film session one night with our team.

Parking was a bit of an issue as they host a number of private parties in their banquet facilities. One night, they held some parking spots for hotel guests. The other we had to park at the property next door, which wasn’t too big of a deal.

The Manteo is south along lakeshore and wasn’t particularly convenient to the rink when we played in the Rutland arena. It was better when we were playing in Memorial Arena. I would definitely stay at the Manteo again, but I would also consider other alternatives if I was back for a tournament and was always playing in Rutland. But I can only imagine the Manteo is just about one of the best places to be on the beach in the summer

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoResort, Director of Sales at Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the upgrade to the Villa - we try to ensure that all our teams have a larger unit available and then use the garage for equipment storage.

As you have noted, we are not situated close to the Rutland arena, however, many tournaments include games being played between the 3 arenas in the city, including Rutland, Memorial arena, a 5 minute drive from the Resort, or at the Capital News Centre (CNC), which is located less than 2 minutes from the hotel.

We hope that we will see your team return again or have you return for a getaway for yourself.

Kind Regards,
Dana Crichton, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas

Address: 3762 Lakeshore Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3L4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
#5 Family Hotel in Kelowna
#6 Business Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelowna’s Manteo Resort is beautifully located on the shores of Okanagan Lake, only minutes from downtown, championship golf courses, estate wineries, and ski hills. At Manteo, amenities are plentiful with indoor/outdoor pools and hot tubs, kids water park, saunas, movie theatre, fitness center, tennis court, 9-hole putting green, playground, private beach and boat moorage. Accommodations are superb and provide the highest standards of comfort in spacious Deluxe Guestrooms, Premium One Bedroom Suites and in private Two & Three Bedroom Villas, located only steps from the lake.Our 102 unit full service resort features waterfront meeting & conference facilities, ideal for groups up to 200. Meeting & event facilities are perfect for meetings, retreats and banquets. The Waterfront Ballroom will accommodate up to 200 people and is divisible into three separate rooms to accommodate smaller meetings and breakout sessions. All facilities have a lakeview, with floor to ceiling windows in each room, which offers an elegant, yet comfortable setting to relax and enjoy.Manteo’s Clubhouse is located only a short walk from the main hotel. From casual to elegant, our Library and Upper Lounge are ideal for private receptions, meetings and events for up to 100 guests. The facilities include a pool table, big screen television, bar service area and a large outdoor patio with breathtaking views of Okanagan Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel And Villas
Manteo Hotel Waterfront
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.