We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly front desk staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbott Villa on the Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Abbott Villa on the Lake to your Saves list
Abbott Villa on the Lake
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1627 Abbott St, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super friendly front desk staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was getting late in the day and we really wanted to secure a room for three of us. The front desk staff at Abbott Villa on the lake was super friendly and helpful. He was very accommodating to our sleeping request and we found what we wanted. The rate was reasonable and the room was clean. We enjoyed the close vicinity to downtown, restaurants, and the lake front. The continental breakfast included was also good and convenient. However, it was a little too convenient and accessible to everyone including the non-guests. We were surprised when a guy just walked in from the street and staffed his pockets with yogurt and hard-boiled eggs. It wasn't very sanitary as he just used his hand to grab eggs, perhaps, it's not a bad idea to monitor who goes into the breakfast area while the room is open. Overall, it was a good stay and we will return to the same establishment when we travel to Kelowna. Hopefully that super nice and friendly front desk clerk, who was going to be a Daddy soon will greet us again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita P, General Manager at Abbott Villa on the Lake, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and your lovely comments. You are correct the front desk staff are super friendly. Our location and the lovely clean rooms with beds adorned with duvet's are just some of the things that make your stay a most pleasant one. Thank you for informing me about the guest who was not suppose to be in the breakfast room. I do have staff that monitor it for most of the morning. We look forward to your next stay when you make the Abbott Villa on the Lake your Home away from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Was forced to stay here because another hotel misbooked us.

I do not recommend this hotel. It is dirty, the rooms are torn up, and it has the seedy atmosphere of a homeless shelter. The front curtains were torn, and the carpets dirty and stained.

Room Tip: If you have to stay, do not use the "suite". Extra dirty and extra noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita P, General Manager at Abbott Villa on the Lake, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Your FIRST review was removed due to certain comments, which where not appropriate. Thank you for your second one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If like us you aren't going to be in your room much then the location of this place could not be beaten. Next to the park it is a short stroll down to the beach and round the corner from all the bars and restaurants.

The rooms themselves though are very old and in need of refurbishment! It was still a quite expensively priced place and so whilst there is the obvious benefit of the location the fact that it doesnt look like anything has been done to the place for many years means its a bit over priced.

The included breakfast is reasonable and is help yourself to cereal, pastries and waffles.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita P, General Manager at Abbott Villa on the Lake, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for you review and comments about the Abbott Villa on the Lake. We appreciate when guests take the time to tell others about their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

My son and I stayed for one night in a suite during my extended vacation in Vancouver where my son lives. The reception we received was warm, friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel for a short stay while touring.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita P, General Manager at Abbott Villa on the Lake, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Abbott Villa on the Lake. It was a pleasure to met you on check in and we hope on your next visit you make us your Home away from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very helpful friendly staff.....Stephen was at the desk when we arrived. Rooms are clean but very small and outdated. Across the road from the city park and within walking distance to beaches, shopping, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita P, General Manager at Abbott Villa on the Lake, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and the Abbott Villa on the Lake and for your review, We always appreciate when guests take time to tell others of their visit. Steven is our newest employee and I am happy to hear that he took great care of you.. Yes our rooms are smaller as our beds are bigger and the housekeepers take great care to make sure they are clean. Our location is one of the best in Kelowna, with most of your needs just a few blocks away and the Rose Garden and Lake just across from us . We hope to welcome you Home on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The lodge was not bad except for being way over priced. I booked through the 877 number that was given to me and when I recieved by credit card bill I was charged in US dollars, also the room was $ 150.00 plus tax and then us exchange on top of it. This 2 star room cost me over
$ 175.00. I called to question the charges and spoke to someone in Manila (Philipines). Is this what has become of the travelodge reservations, a scam. If you are making reservations using an 800 or 877 number be careful, ask where they are located, if they are not Canadian hang up and try a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita P, General Manager at Abbott Villa on the Lake, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are NOT a Travelodge. Our number is 1-800-663-2000 toll free that is direct to us here at the Abbott Villa on the Lake. So I am not sure who you booked with. We are a private property not affliated with any flag property. I regret you have issues that at the moment I can not help you with. I am not even certain that you stayed here as you said you stayed at a Travelodge. Please feel free to call me either on our toll free number 1-800-663-2000 once again that is direct to us or at 1-250-763-7771.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We checked in on August 28 for 3 nights. Arrived at 2:00 pm. Noticed that this hotel was right across from the Park and harbour. It was just amazing since this was our first time in Kelowna. Brodi at front desk, completed our check-in very efficiently and quickly. The room was excellent. The best thing about this room it has one bathroom with a sink and a small kitchen area with two additional sink. I think every hotel should have an extra sink out side the washroom so, one can brush their teeth or do blow dry and not occupy the washroom. Next day we met the Hotel Manager and the day staff. Both were extremely friendly. Rates of the room was very reasonable as we did check around when we stayed there and no one could beat the price. Complimentary breakfast was awesome, with Waffle maker was a hit with our kids. The complimentary breakfast included, fruits (bananas, oranges, apples) yougert, bagel, bread, toaster, boiled eggs, cheese, peanut butter, Jam, jelly, milk, cereal, tea and coffee. These were plenty so much so that we would not even have lunch just have an early dinner. We would definitely stay there again and would certainly recommend this hotel to all our friends and dear ones. Keep up the good work, you rock!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita P, General Manager at Abbott Villa on the Lake, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Abbott Villa on the Lake. It was wonderful meeting you and your lovely family. The room which you stayed in is our room with 2 queen beds, we have 6 with the same lay out. The double sink area is a favorite of families and anyone with more than 2 in the room. Our continental breakfast has many selections and we hope that none of our guests leave hungry after staying with us. I have been told time and time again and I always enjoy hearing how well my staff treat our guests, we pride ourselves on our hospitality.
Our location is one of the best in the downtown area as we are on the lake with the park. I would like to take this time to thank you for writing a review and letting others know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We look foward to when we can welcome you Home again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbott Villa on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbott Villa on the Lake

Address: 1627 Abbott St, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbott Villa on the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Abbott Villa on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Abbott Villa Hotel Kelowna
Travelodge Abbott Hotel
Travel Lodge Kelowna
Travelodge Kelowna
Kelowna Travel Lodge
Kelowna Travelodge
Abbott Villa On The Lake Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbott Villa on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.