We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbott Villa on the Lake

Save Saved
You added Abbott Villa on the Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbott Villa on the Lake
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1627 Abbott St, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 1A9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 34 hotels in Kelowna
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Great hotel in the heart of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a long weekend in Kelowna and stayed at the Abbott Villas.
This was our first time to Kelowna and the staff were very helpful and knowledgable in assisting in the planning of the wine tours and boating excursions that we enjoyed.
Our room was very comfortable and we made full use of the A/C (we had no idea it was that hot in the valley).
This hotel is located right in town and there are many restaurants nearby. On one night we decided to cook our own meal on the BBQ provided by the hotel. They lent us cooking utensils etc. and we ate by the pool and enjoyed some wine that we bought at one of the vineyards nearby.
We had a great time and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita P, General Manager at Abbott Villa on the Lake, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay at the Abbott Villa on the Lake.
Summer was slow to come this year but when the Sun decided to come out it reminded us of why we love to live here and why Kelowna is the best place to come and visit in the Summer time. I am happy to hear you took advantage of the BBQ it is a new addition this year , and what a wonderful spot to have dinner, both my patios offer a wonderful place to sit and as you said have dinner and a glass of wine, either the poolside patio or the patio that over looks City Park and the Lake.
I am always happy to hear that my staff have been helpful whether it be booking a wine tour, or just giving out information that helps make your stay a very pleasant one.
So from myself and my staff we want to thank you again for sharing your experience at the Abbott Villa on the Lake and we look forward to when we can again become your Home away from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here with a bunch of friends for a reunion...Great time, location fantastic, downtown, close walk to all bars and restaurants plus right across from the City Beach and docks to rent boats, sea-doos etc....

Staff was excellent ('specially the front desk clerks, always in good mood and happy to help around the clock)....Continental breakfast was best I've had (waffle machine..yum).

I'd definitely stay here again on my next visit and would recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Partiers check into pool side rooms....if family or couple take rooms farthest from pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita P, General Manager at Abbott Villa on the Lake, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Abbott Villa on the Lake, and all the wonderful comments about us and my staff. One of the comments I hear and appreciate is that I have an excellent staff and how they go beyond to find out information or to be helpful to our guests.
The waffle machines which I have placed into the breakfast room this past fall have become a huge hit with our guests, and if you are not sure how to use them, one of the attendants will be happy to help with the process of having a hot fresh waffle for breakfast.
Location is one of the best in the city as you have mentioned, everything you need is usually only no more than 5 minutes away.
Our outdoor patios make a wonderful spot for big or small groups to meet and enjoy the wonderful views and weather that Kelowna has to offer.
I would like to thank you for sharing your reunion with us and we look forward to your next visit when you make the Abbott Villa on the Lake your Home away from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Had a great weekend, Clean comfy room King bed perfect. Romeo loved the staff as per usual with him.
They put up with us guys with no problem after dealing with the August long weekend.
Joel and Karen kept us informed whats going on around town and where to go eat.
I will stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita P, General Manager at Abbott Villa on the Lake, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
It's always lovely to hear when my guests have enjoyed their stay, being pet friendly is just one of the added bonuses that we offer at the Abbott Villa on the Lake, with a water bowl outside just in case and free doggie treats in the lobby, we want our furry friends to feel at home too.
My amazing staff do everything possible to make your stay a pleasant one, whether we are booking a wine tour, getting directions to events, or even with helping on the best route to take when you leave your Home away from Home.
I would like to thank you for sharing your experience and for recommending us to future travellers.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit when you make us Your Home away from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TV
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Management friendly. Rooms are clean and the location is in downtown Kelowna, the lake and the park are few steps away. Rates are reasonable, great breakfast even if there's no lots of tables (you have to be fast to finish your breakfast otherwise other guests must wait for the table...). The pool and the hot tub are small but enough for 2-3 families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita P, General Manager at Abbott Villa on the Lake, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Abbott Villa on the Lake, We pride ourselves on our clean rooms and resonable rates, I have amazing housekeepers who work very hard on keeping our rooms clean, I am always told how friendly my staff are, we work hard on making our guests feel at home rather than being in a hotel, this is where our Home away from Home has come from, from our guest's. Our continental breakfast is very popular and Shannon and Marlene work effeciently to keep things stocked and tables clean for the next hungry guest, but we do have trays which alot of our guests use to take their breakfast up to either the pool side patio or the Lakeside patio to enjoy their breakfast outdoors. Thank you for taking time to write a review and to let others know about the Abbott Villa on the Lake, and we hope to welcome you Home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have now stayed at this hotel the last 2 summers for a couple nights. We love the location, the park and beach across the street and the fact that you can walk everywhere! Last summer we just happened to find it and couldn't believe our good fortune to have found such a great, reasonably priced hotel that had everything we could ask for. We don't usually sleep in but last Wednesday found us waking up at 7:30 am!! Rita & Karen are awesome ladies who always take the time to exchange pleasantries and now have even said we are no longer guests but family!! That's how it feels when you stay at Abbott Villa!! I almost forgot the mention that the roof top patio is where we enjoyed our morning coffee and our nightcaps! We will be back every summer to relax and enjoy another few nights at this wonderful hotel with Rita and Karen!! Thanks ladies and pass our thanks to the rest of the staff that do such wonderful work in the background each day! ML & Bob

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita P, General Manager at Abbott Villa on the Lake, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you Mary Lou and Bob, for all the wonderful things you have said about the Abbott Villa on the Lake, It was wonderful when I came into work and noticed you having coffee on the Lakeside patio. Yes you are family, we are your Home away from Home. Karen and I and the rest of the staff look forward to your return next year. When Bob told me he never sleeps in and yet he did in our comfortable beds, I was very happy to hear that. Our Location is one of the best in the city with all you need either across the road to the lake or around the corner, for shopping, movies, eating or entertainment. Thank you for taking time to let others know about your small piece of paradise and we are looking forward to your return visit Home...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I had been to this hotel quite a few times (including when it was a Travelodge) over the last few years. Its a great location with walking distance to everything. However, never did we have such a horrible experience as we did over the August long weekend. When we arrived at the hotel, we noticed there were many groups of young people in the parking lot and the swimming pool. They were all drinking and being rowdy. When we checked in at the lobby, the clerk behind the desk told us that there was a concert going in the park that night and they were expecting things to be loud around the hotel and that we should have been warned about this when we booked our reservation. I said that we weren't warned and had we known, we would NOT have booked a night there, especially at $200 per night. She said that we didn't have to go through with the reservation, but informed us that there wasn't a room left in town either in case we wanted to go elsewhere. So we were stuck. We, regrettably, decided to stay. It was awful. There were parties going on throughout the hotel. I would guess there was about 100 of them. Now, don't get me wrong, we were young once too. We were ok with the loud music, drinking and partying - for a while. Once it got to be late (like midnight), it was getting annoying. The staff at the hotel did nothing about it. The partiers were all still outside, yelling and playing music. We were even getting phone calls to our room, and them knocking at our door at 3:40 am!! The next morning, the place was a mess. The pool was filthy. There was garbage and empty bottles/cans everywhere and even a car windshield was broken. It was hard to believe that this hotel allowed these people to stay there. When we checked out and told the clerk what took place, she said that we should've called them to let them know, not that they could've done anything about it. She then just laughed about it and shrugged it off. Needless to say, we are very disappointed as we really enjoyed staying there previously. After that, we won't be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita P, General Manager at Abbott Villa on the Lake, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
August long weekend in Kelowna is known for the last few years as Center of Gravity, over the years it has grown to be a very popular weekend for all the younger people from Vancouver to Calgary, since than I have informed all of my staff to inform anyone wanting to book for that weekend that yes it will be loud not only from the hotel but from the park as we are right across from the venue, the very reason I do this is so that what you experienced does not happen. You mentioned you have stayed with us quite a few times and always enjoyed yourself, I do apologize that this time you did not. We do hope in the future you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is one of the nicest, convenient and comfortable places we have stayed in through out our traveling holidays. You are close to restaurants, the lake and beach, a great park with a Rose garden right across the street, shops, dinner cruises and boat tours. Right out your door, as the name implies, you can walk along the lake up a very modern harbour walkway up past the yacht club, patio style restaurants and lounges, the Casino in the Grand, harbours and tourist attractions. The walk is all something you can do every few hours because there is always something new going on. The staff go out of their way to help you out with anything you may need to make your stay very comfortable. We stay two weeks and always end up feeling that it is our home. The morning breakfast along with the make your own fresh waffles is excellent and is a very good start to a great day. This is a " feel at home" style hotel and Rita, the manager, will do what ever she can to make your stay just that. You really have to try Abbott Villa On The Lake, you will not be disappointed. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Try to phone ahead as you do not want to arrive and find out it is full. Remember, with its location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita P, General Manager at Abbott Villa on the Lake, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you Ron and Helen, we always look forward to your return to your Home away from Home and what type of new car you will buy when staying with us. Thank you for sharing additional photos and you both look great, it's great when our guests share their experience with others. Abbott Villa on the Lake is the place to stay when in Kelowna, whether it's for leisure or business, with the beach and shopping and entertainment either across the street or just around the corner why stay anywhere else. The staff and myself look forward to seeing you next year and being able to wish you both Happy Anniversary. Thank you once again for sharing and Your Home away from Home awaits your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbott Villa on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbott Villa on the Lake

Address: 1627 Abbott St, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbott Villa on the Lake 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Abbott Villa on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Abbott Villa Hotel Kelowna
Travelodge Abbott Hotel
Travel Lodge Kelowna
Travelodge Kelowna
Kelowna Travel Lodge
Kelowna Travelodge
Abbott Villa On The Lake Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbott Villa on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.