We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience, must stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Kelowna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Kelowna to your Saves list
SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Kelowna
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   245 Harvey Avenue, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 6C2, Canada (Central City)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Amazing experience, must stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Went there for my birthday and it was simply amazing, met a vast variety of people from around the world(some I'm still in touch with too), the staff were super friendly and helpful, it was a safe environment to be in plus located so conviently to pretty much everything.
I cannot wait to go back there again soon.
Nikki

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
9
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We originally booked in to the Hostelling International hostel down the road for 2 nights. From the moment we arrived, there was not a good atmosphere. The other guests were unwelcoming and distant. Then we were told they had got our booking wrong, so asked if my friend and I could sleep in separate rooms. We fought against it and they eventually managed to sort something (miraculously). Then our room absolutely stank. It was dark and dingy and both me and my mate suddenly felt very uncomfortable.

We booked and paid for 2 nights, but stayed only the 1. That day we stayed out as late as possible, then the next day got up and booked straight into the SameSun down the road for the following 3 days - I can't stress the difference enough. Friendly, welcoming, clean, tidy etc etc.

If you go to Kelowna, don't even think about staying anywhere but the Samsun!!! Awesome and great location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hostel was about a 5 minute walk from the heart of downtown Kelowna, awesome location if you want to be within easy walking distance of everything. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm for one night and slept very comfortably, rooms are fitted with air-conditioning which was even better for a very hot night in Kelowna! The bathroom was clean and spacious. Staff were friendly. Not a bad hostel at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights separately. Rooms are pretty small, could do with taking beds out and they got very hot. The place is clean and has good communal areas, and is in an excellent location. Free breakfast barely worth it though.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Close to everything down town. Easy to get to.For $10 I could have stayed in a real hotel with a comfortable bed and even the amazing bonus of a towel. It is totally geared to the 18 to 25 year old customer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was at Kelowna Samesun with my boyfriend, we had a private room with bathroom, and well, we couldn't sleep because there were teenagers shouting and rioting the whole night long. I'm not sure if there were holidays or what, but the place was full of drunk teenagers. So, if you go for the fun and the alcohol go there. If you want to sleep during the night, don't. On the other hand, staff was nice enough not to charge the second night we had booked, since after the terrible experience we moved somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The noise level was bad at night time, location awesome, loved having the kitchen and free breakfast, close to busses, library etc, restaurants, coffee shops, beaches, love k-town, beautiful building, clean warm comfy,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Kelowna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Kelowna

Address: 245 Harvey Avenue, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 6C2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Kelowna 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Kelowna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Kelowna Okanagan Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SameSun Backpacker Lodges - Kelowna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.