We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of local history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Father Pandosy Mission

Father Pandosy Mission
South of the city center at the corner of Benvoulin and Casorso rd, Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada (South Pandosy - K.L.O.)
250-860-8369
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 121 things to do in Kelowna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The first non-native settlement in the Okanagan Valley was a mission established on this site in 1859 by Father Pandosy. Take a self-guided tour of the replicated mission buildings and a collection of horse-drawn carriages.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
219 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A piece of local history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a small heritage site,but you'll see the old log cabins and spare quarters where the first missionaries lived.The settlers' home is also a step back in time...it will make you appreciative of the simpler life hundred years ago. It is a peaceful, quiet area,that invites you to look and reflect.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A fun and informative way to learn history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I visited Father Pandosy's Mission for the first time a couple of days ago. I'm a big fan of history, so I loved it. I knew my niece and nephew(9 & 6) would love it too, so I brought them here. They totally loved checking out absolutely everything, and were full of questions about how/why things were like that 150 years ago. I was amazing at the level of interest that they took ...it made me appreciate this heritage site even more. There's even a few picnic tables there if you want to bring a lunch. There is a donation box with a suggested fee of $2, or you can arrange to have birthday parties, weddings etc there for a very reasonable fee. It's well worth making a short stop here and enjoying a bit of Okanagan history!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Memory Lane”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I used to live in Kelowna and never visited. It was nice to finally get to see it and explore the old cabins. It is worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great place for kids to learn history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a great place for the kids to learn the recent history in Kelowna. It is also said to be haunted so it is fun to go to at night, especially on halloween!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Neat place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is part of Okanagan history and should be on the list of places to see.There are so many old buildings and artifacts

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Father Pandosy Mission also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Father Pandosy Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Father Pandosy Mission, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.