We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of local history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Father Pandosy Mission

Father Pandosy Mission
South of the city center at the corner of Benvoulin and Casorso rd, Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada (South Pandosy - K.L.O.)
250-860-8369
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 105 things to do in Kelowna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The first non-native settlement in the Okanagan Valley was a mission established on this site in 1859 by Father Pandosy. Take a self-guided tour of the replicated mission buildings and a collection of horse-drawn carriages.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“A piece of local history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a small heritage site,but you'll see the old log cabins and spare quarters where the first missionaries lived.The settlers' home is also a step back in time...it will make you appreciative of the simpler life hundred years ago. It is a peaceful, quiet area,that invites you to look and reflect.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A fun and informative way to learn history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I visited Father Pandosy's Mission for the first time a couple of days ago. I'm a big fan of history, so I loved it. I knew my niece and nephew(9 & 6) would love it too, so I brought them here. They totally loved checking out absolutely everything, and were full of questions about how/why things were like that 150 years ago. I was amazing at the level of interest that they took ...it made me appreciate this heritage site even more. There's even a few picnic tables there if you want to bring a lunch. There is a donation box with a suggested fee of $2, or you can arrange to have birthday parties, weddings etc there for a very reasonable fee. It's well worth making a short stop here and enjoying a bit of Okanagan history!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Memory Lane”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I used to live in Kelowna and never visited. It was nice to finally get to see it and explore the old cabins. It is worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great place for kids to learn history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a great place for the kids to learn the recent history in Kelowna. It is also said to be haunted so it is fun to go to at night, especially on halloween!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Neat place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is part of Okanagan history and should be on the list of places to see.There are so many old buildings and artifacts

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Father Pandosy Mission also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Father Pandosy Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Father Pandosy Mission, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.