We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Okanagan Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Okanagan Resort to your Saves list
Lake Okanagan Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2751 Westside Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Duncan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The place lacks maintained badly. The rooms in the old part need updating in the worst way.
Carpets on the stairs are a tripping hazard the hotel is asking for a lawsuit.
When I asked about a remote for the air conditioner I was to,d there weren't any wasn't I able to get up and turn it off? Who wants to get out of bed at 3AM climb onto the bedside table to turn it off?
Wood around the deck in front of the room was rotten.
We won't be back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    57
    46
    50
    53
See reviews for
91
79
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am a time-share owner here, ever since 1996 and I would not recommend this resort for anyone. If you have 10 kids and like the sound of screaming kids all day, then maybe this place is for you.

Whatever you do - DO NOT buy a timeshare here. This place has changed management so many time and the costs continually rise and they lie to you about what you get with your timeshare. We were supposed to get Owner Nights for $42 / night and that was really the only reason we purchased here. Not that has been discontinued.

As well, it used to be that the fees were not due until 3 weeks before your arrival. Now they get a collection agency after you if your not able to pay several months in advance.

The place is also invested with wasps. This has not changed in years.

I would sooner camp down the road at Bear Creek then stay in this over priced place.

Buyer Beware. I wish someone had warned me.

At night time when you think it's alright to go sit by the fire, all you will find is teen agers getting drunk. The teens that work there have it made. They run the place literally. There were hardly any adults around last time I stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. The timeshare portion of Lake Okanagan Resort is actually not part of the resort. I would suggest that you contact your Time Share Company to express your concerns. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We made the Lake Okanagan Resort the centerpiece of our Northwest vacation because of a segment about the place that I saw on a San Francisco Bay area travel show on television. The TV show highlighted a beautiful, gleaming place sited alongside a sparkling lake where you could rent bicycles or boats to loll along the day. You could also play golf or tennis on the immense grounds. At night, you could dine in an elegant white pyramidal building with a great looking lounge.

Today, Lake Okanagan Resort looks nothing like it did in the travel show. The gleaming white pyramid, shown all lit up in the resort’s advertising photos, is no longer open for dining and is not lit at night. Based on comments left on other TripAdvisor reviews, it closed last year.

There’s a much smaller restaurant that’s still open beneath the pyramid and you can choose to eat indoors or outdoors on he adjacent patio. Both times we used the restaurant, some nearby lout was speaking loudly into his cellphone conducting some sort of business (two different louts) and there was no escape for us, which was unfortunate considering that we and the lout were pretty much the only restaurant customers each time. Dinner was tasty but very, very rich. Breakfast included stale croissants for two of us. These were quickly replaced by the wait staff with hot microwaved (resuscitated) croissants.

A note about the staff: they were uniformly polite, cheerful, helpful, and friendly. No problems there.

Speaking of escape, be aware that Lake Okanagan Resort is 10 miles down a narrow 2-lane, winding lakefront road from the main highway into Kelowna, so you’re pretty much of a captive audience. You’re not going to zip into town on the spur of the moment. That’s OK if you plan to use the finely manicured 9-hole, par-3 golf course, the tennis courts, or the lake amenities.

Of course if it rains, as it did while we stayed at Lake Okanagan Resort you can’t play tennis or golf or use the lake and none of us did while we were there. Perhaps that’s our fault, coming in too early in the season, but we were told the weather we encountered was unusual. Just our bad luck. However, be advised that if it rains, you either drive into town for the day or watch DVDs, which is what we did. DVD rentals are almost $5 a pop at the small resort store behind the check-in desk, which also carries a limited selection of junk food. If you want actual groceries to cook in the kitchenette, be sure to bring them with you. The larger resort store is also now closed up.

The rooms we stayed in are from the 1970s or early 1980s, as announced by the almond bathroom fixtures. There’s nothing wrong with the fixtures, so no complaints there. However, the mattresses are also quite old and have taken quite a set in the middles (at least for the two rooms our two couples had). As a result, both couples elected to split up and sleep in separate beds. That was much more comfortable than rolling together into the mattress valley in the middle of the night.

The kitchenette studio rooms we had were actually pretty comfortable with the exception of the beds and the between-room floor noise. Another party checked in above us the second night we stayed and they sounded like a herd of elephants clomping around. We also heard a lot of nail squeaks from the overhead flooring. Suffice it to say there’s virtually no sound insulation in the floors of the unit we stayed in, so be sure to ask for a top-floor room if you’re sensitive to noise. However, be aware that there are no elevators, so you’ll be carrying luggage up those stairs.

There are spacious grounds, which require a fair amount of uphill and downhill walking. I’m not in particularly good shape but I was able to walk back and forth to the restaurant without much trouble and I enjoyed the walk. The grounds are actually very well kept and very pretty. We attempted to take a less hilly route back after dinner the first night and discovered some clay tennis courts that are now cracked and weedy and are being used for boat-trailer parking. We also discovered a couple of dumps for fill dirt, concrete, and old discarded furniture. These too don’t appear in the advertising photos but they’re hard by the walking trails prominently featured in the resort’s marketing.

One day was enough for us. We decided to check out a day early (there’s just nothing to do when it rains but read, watch TV, or rent DVDs). The power went out at 2:30am prior to our departure confirming our decision to leave early. Without power, there’s truly nothing to do during a rainy day at Lake Okanagan Resort. I followed up on this incident online and found out that nearly 2000 BC Hydro electricity customers lost power along the west shore of Lake Okanagan that day, thanks to a bird’s nest built on a power pole that shorted out the power lines in the heavy rain. The power pole caught fire so the repairs took a while. The power didn’t come back on until 7pm that evening. By then, we’d driven back across the border and across the state of Washington to Seattle.

We paid $139 a night for our rooms. That’s about what we’d pay for a chain motel but on a nice day, you could have gotten tennis, golf, and a spectacular view for the same price at Lake Okanagan Resort. Instead, unfortunately, it rained. It could have been great, but for us it was all more of a disappointment.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, ask for a top-floor room but be prepared to carry your bags up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a older hotel with a nice character. We stayed near the lake and really liked it. The restaurant food was quite good and the service was very good. We used the gym each morning and it was a good warm up climbing the hundred plus stairs to get there.
I absolutley loved the drive into the resort winding along the lake in my old Porsche.

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

After getting engaged 20 years ago at Lake Okanagan Resort, my husband surprised me with a 2 night stay as a Mother's Day gift. They say time marches on....well not at LOR, it looked the same as 20 years ago, the rooms are in dire need of an update, they doors still use keys, not key cards, but keys, old school. The website and info package gives you details on the restaurants, yet when I phoned from the room to make a dining room reservation, no answer. We went to the "informal" restaurant only to be told the dining room closed a long time ago, no mention of this upon check in. We ended up driving into town to get groceries for the balance of the stay. This resort is on the side of a hill, the driveways are 15% grade in some spots, very difficult to get around, not the type of place if you leave something in your room and go to the beach you aren't going back to get it. They have built two new complexes on the property that look much nicer, but the price is much higher too, and the amenities are just not there. I would stay at an Accent Inn before going back to LOR, not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for the review and congratulations on 20 years of Marriage! I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Lake Okanagan Resort. Since the new ownership from a few years back we have had a number of updates and renovations and we are looking forward for more to come. Some of the renovations include the Vublic Vantage Pointe Restaurant & Patio, Barefoot Poolside Bar, Vantage Pointe Dining Room & Lounge (availble for event & group bookings only), the new Beach Cantina, as well as the new Marina & Convenience Store. The accommodation suites also all received brand new pillow top mattresses, flat screen tvs, and DVD players this winter. You are correct by saying that the Dining Room & Lounge is now closed to the public for a year ago they decided to have it available only for groups, events, weddings, etc. This is noted on our website under the Dining Tab. As for the hillside which the resort is still on; we do offer our guests complimentary shuttles to accommodate this. With a quick phone call to the Front Desk you can have a shuttle and driver picking you up in minutes to take you to where you need to go around the resort. A positive of being on the hillside is we have amazing views almost everywhere around the resort but we do understand the downfalls of it as well which is why we are so accommodating with the full time shuttles. Kindest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We are staying at the resort right now and we have had a lovely week. We are in a terrace building and a nice view of the lake. It is older than some of the other buildings but clean and well stocked. We bought our groceries in West Kelowna and have bbqed most nights. We ate at the pool the first night and the food was fine and not over priced. The road is a little tricky but as all roads in BC take your time! We have walked the grounds and the staff are busy planting and getting ready for the high season-we come early because we like the quiet-think we will send my brother here soon as he would just golf the week away. The staff is friendly and helpful as needed and although the pool is small it is usable. The next time we want a quiet week in the valley we will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just returned from a five night stay at the LOR. First, you have a drive in of 17 kms. on a very narrow, windy, and poorly maintained road. Many places did not even have guard rails. The grounds could be beautiful but the entire complex is in serious need of maintenance. Rooms were clean, linens fresh, and our one bedroom suite had a very well stocked kitchen. Noise transfer is an issue and I think during peak time it would be extremely noisy. Balconies were well enclosed yet we had to smoke in the parking lot. We accepted this, however, the website states no pets and there are signs posted in places on the resort that pets are not allowed. In our five night stay we saw six dogs, one large and running loose, one night we heard one barking, and we also saw two cats, HOW COME?? The resort is not user friendly if you have mobility issues or are in need of a wheel chair. We did find any staff member we encountered to be extremely friendly and helpful. Did we enjoy our stay-yes, would we return-no. There are too many negative aspects.

Room Tip: Because of noise transfer, I would suggest a room on the top floor, but only if you have no mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS001, Director of Sales at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your interest in Lake Okanagan Resort. We appreciate all of your feedback. Westside Road is a tricky BC country road so we are glad to see the continuous construction occuring to increase its ease and safety. Thank you town of Kelowna! As we are nearing our peak summer months we have been hiring many more groundsmen for maintaining the grounds for it is a difficult task to maintain the ten acres. I am glad you enjoyed your suite, our housekeepers have been doing a great job! As for the pets, we are happy to accommodate our pet-loving guests by allowing them to bring their beloved pets to the resort during our off season. With that being said pets are only allowed in certain accomomdation buildings and they must be on a leash and well behaved at all times. The cats must have walked over for a visit from our neighbours :) Continuing on: LOR's Management Team and Head Office are fully aware of the mobility issues which the resort posses and they are currently in the process of creating a renovations budget for build more ramps and elevators. Before these renovations are done we are happy to accommodate any of our guests with full time shuttles and drivers to move people around the resort. If mobility issues are a concern for an accommodation suite please let the Front Desk Staff know at the time of your booking for we would be happy to assign you to a room on the main floor on in our new Pointe Beach Villas (which posses an elevator). We appreciate your feedback and we hope to be able to see you again so you can see the many renovations which have and are occuring to the resort. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Okanagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Okanagan Resort

Address: 2751 Westside Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Okanagan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Okanagan Resort is located on 300 acres of mountainside parkland on the West Shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, just 20 minutes from downtown Kelowna.Lake Okanagan Resort is the Kelowna's "true destination Resort. The resort has its own 9 hole executive par 3 golf course, lit tennis courts, hot tubs, resort store, renovated meeting space, restaurants, lounge, seasonal pools, spa, upgraded suites (all with kitchen facilities) and premier villas, beach and brand new marina.The resort welcomes families, couples, groups, conferences, retreats and is perfect for beach weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lake Okanagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Okanagan Hotel Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Resort Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Okanagan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.