We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old resort but in good condition” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Okanagan Resort

Save Saved
You added Lake Okanagan Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lake Okanagan Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2751 Westside Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 34 hotels in Kelowna
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Old resort but in good condition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our third stay at this resort so one can assume we are happy with it. We did not stay in the newer units but rather the older. We enjoy the location on the lake. We are able to stay at vastly discounted rates so a bit old is no problem. The resort is definitely clean and in good repair. Everything works, there were no obvious repairs required and it was well appointed. 3 bedrooms, 3 baths with 2 off a bedroom, privacy, sitting room, kitchen with fridge, stove, microwave, all utensils for cooking, good storage, WiFi wireless, balcony, lake view, barbeque on main floor patio, golf course, hot tub, gym, pool, restaurant with good food and much more. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    46
    34
    38
    44
See reviews for
67
67
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The resort is in a great location.thats about it...I booked a beach front room,and when I got there they said we have none avalible.I had to argue with front desk until I got what I wanted.Got in the room and I was not even cleaned.i phoned front desk,and they said house keeping was gone for the day,we will move you to another room, but not beach front.I had already brought luggage in,drove 10 hours it was around 8:00 pm I was very tired and dident want to move to a room that I did not want...I had to beg front desk to let me clean my own room,I would do I better job any way.they finally agreed,and brought me cleaning stuff,towels and sheets.if it wasent for my kids,I would have left and went to another hotel.staff are not friendly at all,and they don't seem to care about there jobs,and maintaining a nice resort, because it has lots of potential.I did get a free night for all my inconvenience,but will never stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This property is lacking in so many ways. When we arrived, we needed to sign a waiver against any injury. This makes you very concerned with children. We thought we were staying in the newer section, which had a lot of room as this was off season, but were told we were in the older section which they said was recently renovated and still had a view of the lake. They stated it would cost $100 more each night. Ridiculous! Our family of six went to the older section of 3 bedrooms only to find 1 thing of shampoo and not enough towels. The entire place was in need of repair and clearly not renovated. All appliances and furniture are outdated, beds uncomfortable, spiderwebs everywhere, and you have to buy soap to do the dishes. They gave us only 4 towels to use in the hot tub which we needed to drive to and is so small that all 6 of us would be a tight fit. When we asked for 2 more towels as we registered 6 guests, we were told we needed to put down a $25 deposit for each additional towel. I stated we were simply asking for the nu beer of towels for the guests registered and we to,d, these are the rules. There is no housekeeping and an additional fine if you don't clean your room to their standards. The resort bar and pool table closes at 8pm. When we went there ti check it out the bartender and chef were put out as we interrupted their TV time and clearly wanted us to leave. The spa is not what you woud expect as it is run down as well.

This is the first time our family was away during Christmas and the staff and resort went out of
their way to make it the worst experience we could possibly have. A big mistake and clearly much nicer places to stay in Kelowna. The area us beautiful but the resort is an eyesore and the staff nit service-oriented at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have travelled far and wide , I have never had to sign a liability waiver when chwecking into a resort, if this means that the resort, Lake Okanagan Resort has no insurance for their guests or are worried that guests would injure themselves on what we found be be a very poorly maintained property. We stayed in their new building Pointe Beach, and it was nice. When we checked in we were told we would have one day in the week that housekeeping would come by. When we called on the day we were to have a change of towels and bedding, we were told we would not have housekeeping as we had a washer and dryer in our unit, and a broom in the closet. Needless to say we were quite disappointed , that staff had conflicting answers. We went to visit our friends that were , reluctantly staying in the "older" section of the resort and only to find that stairs leading to their unit was roped off, as the stairs and railing were in very much needed repair or replacement. Also there were nails sticking up out of the steps leading from the restraunt area to the beach area, quite hazardous..Overall appearance of the resort was not what i would classify as 4 or even 5 star,although unit we stayed in was 4 star ( as there is always room for improvement) but a 2 to 3 star. I am giving this a two or 3 star as their is apparently a lack of managerial direction, beach area was not up to par as their was overflowing garbage cans as well as what we observed as refuse that remained on the beach for days on end. Clean up your resort and tend to maintenance issues , then perhaps on a return visit we may have a more favorable review of your property.
It is a shame, the surrounding scenery was magnificent, only thanks to Mother Nature .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Unfortunately:

- the dishwashing machine was of poor quality and leaked badly: needed constant pressure to stop the leakage the only time we used it.
- the electric heaters in our older suite were quite loud when they kicked in during the night, disrupting your sleep
- on the Sunday evening of our first night the indoor hot tub was only a third full of water
- they had some nice walking/jogging trails in the north end of the resort but large tree windfall would hinder less athletic/seniors' access. It was clear that these trees had been down for quite awhile
- be aware that during the off season there is no restaurant service on Sunday or Monday evenings, so if you are making a long weekend of it make sure you plan for your Sunday dinner in your suite (unless you want to travel the windy road back to Westbank, which in winter isn't an appealing prospect)
- unless there was another unisex sauna that we were not aware of, the saunas were attached to the men's and women's change rooms, respectively. Strange, when you want to spend time with your wife sharing a sauna.
- finally, including the trail wind fall, there was a disappointing amount of disrepair around the place, such as damaged poor fixtures and window finishings. Looked vandalized. It seems like the bare minimum of expense is put into the facilities, unfortunately. Needs a cash infusion here.

We came here to do a little day hiking in the Blue Grouse Mountain area and thought that we would use this as our closer base, but in hindsight we should have stayed in Kelowna proper itself both evenings and travelled out to our hiking spot during day. I see this place was a hit for some people in the offseason, but not for the two of us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went here for a family long weekend with our grown kids and one granddaughter. It was our first experience with a time share and we thought it was excellent. We arrived Friday afternoon and the 3 bedroom condo was perfect for us (5 adults and 1 child) and had room for 3 more adults with ease. Everything that you could possibly need is there, the only thing I would recommend bringing is plastic wrap and some games. We were almost the only people there as it was off season (Remembrance Day Weekend) and the golfing was free, two hot-tubs still running as well as the exercise room. We spent the weekend playing games and when we woke to snow on the Monday morning we made a snowman. I would highly recommend this resort especially in the off season. Can't speak from experience about the summer but it looks like a perfect spot right on the lake with lots of outdoor activities.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad condo that you can get. We had a beautiful view of the golf course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Units are in need of upgrading and are very tired but serviceable. We take a couple of grandkids with us here and play on the lake for the week. The units are in need of a good scrubbing. In all fairness we did notice some improvements this year on the property. The elevators in the units and the hallways could use a cleaning as they are pretty dirty. The canopies over the terrace unit by the elevator are covered in bat droppings and the windows in the elevators I am sure haven't been cleaned in years. We don't use the ammenities at all as we have a boat and spend most of our time on the lake. We kind of view it as our rustic condo on the lake.

Room Tip: Stay in the units away from the water as the Lakeside is quite noisey in the evening with teens ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Okanagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Okanagan Resort

Address: 2751 Westside Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Okanagan Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Okanagan Resort is located on 300 acres of mountainside parkland on the West Shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, just 20 minutes from downtown Kelowna.Lake Okanagan Resort is the Kelowna's "true destination Resort. The resort has its own 9 hole executive par 3 golf course, lit tennis courts, hot tubs, resort store, renovated meeting space, restaurants, lounge, seasonal pools, spa, upgraded suites (all with kitchen facilities) and premier villas, beach and brand new marina.The resort welcomes families, couples, groups, conferences, retreats and is perfect for beach weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lake Okanagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Okanagan Hotel Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Resort Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Okanagan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.