We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisey & poor value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eldorado

Save Saved
You added Hotel Eldorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eldorado
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Cook Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3G9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 hotels in Kelowna
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Noisey & poor value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Noisey as hotal management insist on playing loud music on their waterfront boardwalk patio area along the entire front of the hotel until 11pm - to sleep you have to close your windows.
Next door is the public boat ramp where un-muffled V8 powered race boats are launched and fired -up. This hotel caters to the 25 to 40 year old set who drink and yell alot

On the positive side, great location right on the lake, the old part is quite charming, the young valets, hostesses and waiters gave good service.

Kelowna hotels are pricey and poor value generally

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    67
    14
    8
    14
See reviews for
32
108
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

My friend and I decided to dine here the other night. I love the location of this hotel and dining here is truly a "Kelowna" setting. It was a decision we did live to regret though. The service was terrible. Fortunately we were not in a hurry so the neglect of our wait staff was more annoying than anything. We were offered the special which was steak oscar and it sounded wonderful so we chose this. We were told we could choose any steak on the menu and it would be served with crab meat and sauce topping. No price was quoted and we did not ask. The meal itself was just ok. I've had worse and I've had better. We waited over half an hour for our coffee to be served and finally received our bill. The steak alone was $53. $33 for the steak and an additional $20 for the crab topping. Ouch! We won't even discuss the overpriced local wine because we knew the price of that when we ordered it. So enjoy the setting but beware of what you order. It could break the budget!

Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night as a getaway. We got a great deal because it was very much off season. So the place was worth about what we paid. It's a nice place, and it's right on the lake. But because most rooms are not facing the lake, and there is a public beach a short walk away (the hotel itself does not have it's own beach) the only benefit to staying here is the ability to get to the lake quickly. But if you are going to the beach, and don't mind a 10 minute drive, you can probably save $100 and get the same thing.

But I must caution anyone against eating dinner here. We ate both breakfast and dinner here because we felt the hassle to drive to another place (local options are very limited) wouldn't be worth it. For breakfast, we were certainly right. The menu was somewhat limited but reasonable (very tasty) and reasonably priced ($12 for an omlette). But dinner was a disaster. The food itself was quite good. But the menu was more limited than I've ever seen, and the prices were way too high to justify. Here was the menu lineup: 6 entrees, 3 of which were steaks. And there were two specials that night. Guess what they were? Steaks! I love a steak, but I also love to have a bit of choice when I go out to eat. As it happens I didn't feel like steak so I had the $26 chicken breast, which actually came in the form of a very small chicken leg. Whatever. If you stay here, do yourself a favor and take a trip into town to a different restaurant. It's not that far and well worth for both selection and cost. Now, if you are not that hungry I have to say the appetizers could serve as a small meal, but you're still paying $16 for a very light meal. Not worth it, and again only about 6 selections to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

My husband and I along with our 18 year old daughter stayed in the hotel over the weekend. We were in Kelowna to attend my Nephews wedding which took place in a nearby winery. We found the staff very helpful from the first phone call to inquire into rates. The 3 of us had a wonderful room in the Arms section of the hotel with 2 queen beds. The room was stylish with its antique looking furniture and cork flooring and it was immaculately clean. We booked the Romance package (cheaper than the hotels regular rates) which meant our sheets were turned down with fabric rose petals and a dish of really good chocolate strawberries were on the night table. The beds were very comfortable and the room was quiet. The bar in this Hotel is popular with the locals so we were told by the staff that the arms wing of the hotel was quieter on the weekends then the main hotel. Our package included $10 per person (for 2 people) towards breakfast. The restaurant overlooks the lake and docks. We put our $10 towards their breakfast buffet which was small but all the food we had was excellent. Cost of the buffet was $15 so we only had to pay $5! In the rooms there is the standard coffee machines but in the hallway in the morning the staff set up thermal carafes of coffee that you can help yourself to before that early morning walk by the lake. We really enjoyed this hotel and their staff. The value was excellent.We would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We found this place thanks to a Travel and Leisure review on the Okanagan Valley wine region. We were very pleased with the hotel. Upon entering once should ignore the motel like sign and big car park and proceed though to discover the lake frontage and marina view which justifies the boutique hotel label.
We were given a spacious room with a King bed and sofa bed for our child. This room did not have a prized lake view but a pleasant vista on the side of the building looking into a claret leaved deciduous tree and down into the indoor pool area. Our room was in the new Arms Wing of the hotel. I would recommend staying in this area of the hotel as the original Heritage rooms are over the buzzing bar and restaurant and ay be noisy.
The room was spacious, stylish, comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was of a modern design and very functional. Free WiFi worked well, the gym was small but well equipped and the pool pleasant for a splash. Three minutes away was a huge H2O aquatic centre with 50 m pool and all other manner of pools.
The restaurant served very good food and had a great view over the lake.
Well worth a visit. It's a pity that Canadian Wine is rubbish !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and had excellent service from very friendly staff. The hotel is situated on the lakeside with great views. There is a very attractive terrace restaurant/bar area overlooking the pier where various water sports are available. We had a room overlooking the lake which was of an adequate size and well equipped. Our only complaint was that you would have needed very long arms to reach the toilet roll from a sitting position. A relatively minor complaint but you have to ask "who who designed the bathroom?" We found the restaurant very good with three separate menus that could be used in any location. The bar area was very popular with the younger set and could get noisy in the evening but had a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

This hotel is right on the lake. It has a nice restaurant that opens out on to the dock. The hotel is old but is well maintained. We were very surprised at how spacious our room was. The bed was awesome. Lovely pool/spa area with a gym. Free parking. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eldorado

Address: 500 Cook Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Eldorado 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Eldorado is a Kelowna landmark situated on the shores of Okanagan Lake. With a storied past dating back to the 1920’s and unique local charm, a trip to Kelowna is not complete without a visit to the EL. Whether you’re staying with us for the first time or heading back for a return visit, we can’t wait to welcome you to our neighbourhood hotel!If you have company or if you’d rather not have company, our 53 guestrooms and suites are classically “INN”spired and completely inviting. Your on-site dining options are unlimited with our lakeside Dining Room, lively Bar and laid-back Boardwalk. Indoors or outdoors, formal or fun, group events or maybe a more romantic event, we invite you to make yourself feel right at home. Our full service Eldorado Marina is just steps away and you won’t believe how close the city’s best wineries, golf courses and beaches are too. So for business or pleasure (or perhaps a little of both), let us “EL”evate your Okanagan experience today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Kelowna
Hotel Eldorado Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eldorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.