We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Hubertus & Oak Bay Estate Winery

St Hubertus & Oak Bay Estate Winery
5225 Lakeshore Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 4J1, Canada
250 764 7888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 63 activities in Kelowna
Type: Wineries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The St Hubertus & Oak Bay Vineyards were originally planted in 1928 By J.W. Hughes during a time when agricultural land was plentiful.Since 1984 the Gebert Familys use sustainable farming practices on their 76 acre vineyard to produce wines that reflect the terroir of the north Okanagan Valley under the St Hubertus & Oak Bay Label. In 2003 the Okanagan Mountain Wild Fire destroyed the original winery and over 200 houses.
Vancouver Island, BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Cute, kitch tasting room. Staff seemed very friendly. Wine seemed to be marketed to mass consumption. A bit sweet, without the balanced acidity in most of their whites. Fun Goodess bottle.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A great little winery. If you're travelling to Kelowna I would absolutely stop here! Their chasselas in particular was very very good. The person doing the tastings was SO friendly, and I find that as good as the wines can be, the person serving them can make all the difference. A very enjoyable time inside the warm cottage feeling tasting room. My only regret is not buying more here. My mom who was with me however didn't cheap out and bought 2 cases! This winery deserves more praise than it gets!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hands down THE best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is one of the most quaint and friendly wineries in the Kelowna area. Although I'm not a sommelier when I taste things that explode in flavour I know I've found a keeper. Their Gammy Noir is an amazing combination of deep rich flavour, their Gewürztraminer is excellent but their Goddess has to be hands down the best wine I have ever drank. My only complaint would be that I didn't purchase more of all three.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinotn, Owner at St Hubertus & Oak Bay Estate Winery, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank You!
a review like this makes a rainy Harvest Monday look so much brighter. we are glad you had a GRAPE time at the Vineyard. i hope the next time you will be back the sun will be out again.
Have a GRAPE Week and happy travels
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a wonderful little winery. Very family oriented and freindly to all including the canine kids. We have been fans for years and try to get out here a couple of times per year. Great wine and good value. A favorite is the Frizante, lots of flavour and bubbles, could it get any better?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We visited St. Hubertus Winery in September. It's a charming place to visit, with a very friendly staff and tasty Ice Wine. Well worth the visit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinotn, Owner at St Hubertus & Oak Bay Estate Winery, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank You.
we are glad you like our vineyard, we also like to make the 4 legged friends welcome, for your information there is a dog park just across from us with lake assess.
all the best
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Hubertus & Oak Bay Estate Winery also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to St Hubertus & Oak Bay Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Hubertus & Oak Bay Estate Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St Hubertus & Oak Bay Estate Winery to your Saves list