We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Great Weeks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa del Sol

Playa del Sol
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Playa del Sol to your Saves list
Playa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   654 Cook Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3G7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Nelson, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“6 Great Weeks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Six weeks of business to conduct in Kelowna had us making the absolute best of things by staying at Playa del Sol, an immaculate, secure, convenient resort. The folks at West Canadian Reservations were super accommodating and flexible in booking us, and the facility, from condo to poolside was first class.
I would recommend Playa to anyone, and have!

Room Tip: lake views are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Battleford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

n.B.This was our first stay at Playa del Sol and we couldn't have asked for a better home away from home. We were in Kelowna for our son's wedding and the idea of a place for us to stay and also have a gathering place for relatives to drop by for a visit was perfect. We were able to have a group over for a BBQ on the pool deck which we would not have been able to do had we stayed at a hotel. And I must also add the the service from the office, maintenance and right down to the security were excellent. Everyone made us feel welcome. I hope that we have another opportunity to visit Kelowna and stay at this resort

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had several of our friends and family stay at Playa del Sol for our wedding in August. The main areas, amenities and guest rooms that I saw were all in great shape. The convenient group BBQ areas meant we were able to have several families join together for dinners. It is centrally located, close to the beach, lots of restaurants and more.

We didn't have any trouble with the strict noise rules as none of us were partying very late and we were happy to be able to get to sleep easily as well. The night of the wedding people opted to go to the bar in Eldorado just across the street which worked out well. If you want to have a raging party, this probably isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

For the second year in a row, we stayed here and had a great time! it's a nice resort and quiet at night for such a big complex. security does a great job keeping the party crowd quiet overnight as once again this year, as happened last year, there were a group of young people trying to take their party to the balcony at 3 AM, and were quickly shut down! the rooms are air conditioned, clean and comfortable....it's nice to have the pool and hot tub there all day and most of the evening to take a dip whenever you feel like it. our family also made use of the workout room as well as the entertainment room with the pool tables and big screen TV! having the coffee shop and restaurant downstairs is handy if you don't want to go far for coffee or a meal. great location close to beaches and other hotels with a marina and boardwalk close by. not more than about 5 minutes drive to downtown Kelowna. we will stay here again when we come back!

Room Tip: If you don't want to listen to road noise all day and at night, book a room facing away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

It's unfortunate there were so many poor reviews given about this property about the noise restrictions - I hope readers will consider that likely all those bad reviews were written by the same group members.

I just spent a whole week with my family here and we could not have been happier. The units were immaculate, there is a welcome bottle of wine in each unit, the grounds were very clean and private. We stayed in 472 and 473 - neighbouring units that have a shared stairway to their entrances. This made it even more private as no one else used these stairs except up. There were a couple minor issues such as a missing cutting board and blown fuse. Blaine is incredibly accommodating and prompt on fixing anything that comes up. The beds are beautiful and very comfortable, the kitchens are very well stocked and the bathrooms include soap, shampoo and conditioner. Giant sized beach towels, inflatable floaters, beach chairs etc are all provided - they have thought of everything!!

For partyers, if you don't like the noise restrictions, Cabana is a great restaurant with a fun patio, plus you are right across the street from The Eldorado and Manteo resort, both of which have great lounges and gorgeous lake front patios. There are plenty of alternatives within walking distance.

We found this resort very kid friendly, the only complaint was that the pool didn't have much of a "shallow end" for small children. However, once again, you are only a couple mins walk from great beaches and parks which kids tend to like better than pools anyways.

Overall, we will not hesitate to come back again. I emphasize that we were very grateful for the noise by laws as we were there over July long weekend and the resort was packed. Everyone, however, was very considerate and respectful and we had no disturbances all week.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan, BC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have stayed there several times......great for familes. not for groups as the security is very strict and will fine you or even kick you off the resort if you break the rules.......A beautiful pool, gym, spa BBQ, make it perfect..Rooms are beautiful....The building houses long term renters throughtout the year with most staying through the summer. amazing restaurant on the site.....Accross from the Beach .....close to Reastaurants

Room Tip: We face the back of (nice view of Creek) to enjoy the quite side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We rented 16 rooms for our wedding, for out of town guests who stayed in Kelowna for a week. Needless to say, we wanted to have a good time. When we checked in, we were told of the noise by laws.. for the first time. No noise after 11pm or you would get a $200 fine for each time security came to your room. We were VERY disappointed we were not told this when we booked for our wedding in the first place! Yet, it was too late to do anything as we had all paid up front. It is a nice, clean place and nice location, but confusing as it is a vacation rental and a place where people live.. which are two very conflicting situations! If you have kids and need a quiet place, this may be okay for you, but if you are there for a good time.. go to Manteo, or elsewhere in Kelowna, where they are more forgiving of noise!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa del Sol

Address: 654 Cook Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3G7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa del Sol is a 4* Luxury Condominium Resort in the heart of the breathtaking Okanagan Valley. Cool off in the 3rd level swimming pool, warm up in the hot tub, pamper yourself in the Spa, tone-up in our fitness facility, or de-stress in the steam room. You can barbeque by the pool or indulge yourself at the Resort’s tantalizing Cabana Bar & Grille. Enjoy steaming lattes at the Coffee Shop. Whether you want to play or relax, Playa Del Sol has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Playa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Del Sol Hotel Kelowna
Playa Del Sol Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.