We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing and very convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa del Sol

Save Saved
You added Playa del Sol to your Saves list
Playa del Sol
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Playa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   654 Cook Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3G7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Juneau, Alaska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing and very convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

It's unfortunate there were so many poor reviews given about this property about the noise restrictions - I hope readers will consider that likely all those bad reviews were written by the same group members.

I just spent a whole week with my family here and we could not have been happier. The units were immaculate, there is a welcome bottle of wine in each unit, the grounds were very clean and private. We stayed in 472 and 473 - neighbouring units that have a shared stairway to their entrances. This made it even more private as no one else used these stairs except up. There were a couple minor issues such as a missing cutting board and blown fuse. Blaine is incredibly accommodating and prompt on fixing anything that comes up. The beds are beautiful and very comfortable, the kitchens are very well stocked and the bathrooms include soap, shampoo and conditioner. Giant sized beach towels, inflatable floaters, beach chairs etc are all provided - they have thought of everything!!

For partyers, if you don't like the noise restrictions, Cabana is a great restaurant with a fun patio, plus you are right across the street from The Eldorado and Manteo resort, both of which have great lounges and gorgeous lake front patios. There are plenty of alternatives within walking distance.

We found this resort very kid friendly, the only complaint was that the pool didn't have much of a "shallow end" for small children. However, once again, you are only a couple mins walk from great beaches and parks which kids tend to like better than pools anyways.

Overall, we will not hesitate to come back again. I emphasize that we were very grateful for the noise by laws as we were there over July long weekend and the resort was packed. Everyone, however, was very considerate and respectful and we had no disturbances all week.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Okanagan, BC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have stayed there several times......great for familes. not for groups as the security is very strict and will fine you or even kick you off the resort if you break the rules.......A beautiful pool, gym, spa BBQ, make it perfect..Rooms are beautiful....The building houses long term renters throughtout the year with most staying through the summer. amazing restaurant on the site.....Accross from the Beach .....close to Reastaurants

Room Tip: We face the back of (nice view of Creek) to enjoy the quite side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We rented 16 rooms for our wedding, for out of town guests who stayed in Kelowna for a week. Needless to say, we wanted to have a good time. When we checked in, we were told of the noise by laws.. for the first time. No noise after 11pm or you would get a $200 fine for each time security came to your room. We were VERY disappointed we were not told this when we booked for our wedding in the first place! Yet, it was too late to do anything as we had all paid up front. It is a nice, clean place and nice location, but confusing as it is a vacation rental and a place where people live.. which are two very conflicting situations! If you have kids and need a quiet place, this may be okay for you, but if you are there for a good time.. go to Manteo, or elsewhere in Kelowna, where they are more forgiving of noise!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Great place to vacation rent if you want somewhere loud and noisy. Place is a full of vacation rentals, so people always are there to party. Have stayed there a few times. They have full time security, but they don't really have any power.

If your wanting to get some sleep at night, I wouldn't advise this place. Place is clean, good amenities but small at that. Wouldn't recommend this to many people. Usually lots of families there with kids running around. That part was fine, just at night people partying on their decks and running up and down the hallways.

Room Tip: The two bedrooms and Den are much more spacious than the one bedroom and den units. Don't stay o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We weren't disappointed in the rooms. However, the noise bylaw was not communicated to the people from out of town that rented sixteen rooms for a wedding. If we would have known we were going to be hassled and bothered every day that we were at Playa Del Sol we would have picked another resort to give our $30,000 to. We were told there was a pool and hot tub but by 3pm we had to find security to open up the gates so that we could use them. We opened up a towel to dry after a shower to find all kinds of leaves and twigs which ended up in the tub and on the person drying off.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheatley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Bottom line...rooms were great....but don't plan to have others in your room after 11 pm or you WILL get a $200 fine. This was not made clear to our group (about 16 rooms) when we booked for a wedding vacation for a week from Sept 27th-Oct 4th. As our rooms were already paid for in full - there was nothing we could do when we found out the 'rules'. The pool and hot tub entrance was locked when we had a beautiful sunny day so we were unable to get in unless we jumped the fence. If you want to make this your home with small children, the noise curfew would be welcomed but that's not why we were there. Conflicting housing arrangements at Playa Del Sol make it not so attractive for vacationers. Amanda was very helpful & professional but 'Security' was snotty & so tight we almost choked!! Not happy. :(

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

16 rooms were rented at the Playa Del Sol from guests from Ontario and BC for a wedding being held in Kelowan As you are all aware, the cost is not a drop in the bucket.... Upon arrival of several guests between the hours of 7:00 PM to 10:00 PM,( all arriving at different times), we all met in the room belonging to the parents of the groom. At exactly 11:15 PM security was at her door advising we were too loud and if she had to come again, they would impose a $200.00 fine for each offence. Needless to say, the mother of the groom was very upset all week, for fear of anyone making too much noise. The next evening, we all met outside in the courtyard at another guests room. We bbq steaks and such. At 9:15 PM.. security at the door advising we were too loud. When we asked him if there had been a formal complaint, he advised that No, there was no complaint made. The parents of the bride had an informal meet & greet evening where again security showed up at 11:15 to complain.
We feel very dissapointed in Playa Del Sol for not advising this group of the ABSOLUTELY no noise policy. The organization should have known when 16 rooms are booked for one wedding that they should have advised us. After spending close to 30,000.00 at this resort and constantly being harassed, we all have a bit of a sour taste in our mouths about staying at this resort. All involved including the residents from the Kelowna area will definitely not recommending this resort......

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa del Sol

Address: 654 Cook Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3G7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty lodging in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa del Sol 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa del Sol is a 4* Luxury Condominium Resort in the heart of the breathtaking Okanagan Valley. Cool off in the 3rd level swimming pool, warm up in the hot tub, pamper yourself in the Spa, tone-up in our fitness facility, or de-stress in the steam room. You can barbeque by the pool or indulge yourself at the Resort’s tantalizing Cabana Bar & Grille. Enjoy steaming lattes at the Coffee Shop. Whether you want to play or relax, Playa Del Sol has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Playa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Del Sol Hotel Kelowna
Playa Del Sol Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.