We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa del Sol

Playa del Sol
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Playa del Sol to your Saves list
Playa del Sol
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   654 Cook Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3G7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

our family stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the top floor for a week and have no complaints at all ! it's quiet, beds are big and comfy, and the apartment itself was large enough for the 3 of us. having a pool and hot tub in the complex is a bonus if you want to swim, but not go to the beach. nice to have self controlling air conditioning in the unit as well. good to have your own kitchen as we cooked our own meals to save money instead of always eating out, which can get boring and expensive. having a unit that faces away from the busy road is a bonus if you have a family and you want quiet at night. we would stay here again, and actually plan to do so.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We were very excited to arrive at Playa Del Sol which looked beautiful from the pictures we had viewed on line. The exterior of the building was very nice as depicted in the photos, however, the unit we rented was a far cry from the advertised units! Unit 338 was filthy and smelled! The carpets were VERY stained. The linens were stained and dirty. I have included a picture of the face cloth which I was to use, it was sickenening. There was no functioning shower curtain or bath mat. The linens and hair dryer were covered in dark hairs. When I pulled out a cutting board it was sticky and covered in grease. There was no light bulb in the bedroom lamp which was the only light source for that room. The toilet paper holder was broken. The smoke detector was not hooked up. In response to the complaints the Manager admitted that the suites were rented so continuously that cleaning them thoroughly was not posssible. When we tried to move to another Hotel the Playa Del Sol Manager together with the booking company, Okanagan Vacation Home Rentals, tried to discount our concerns and refused to refund our money if we left. This experience ruined two and a half days of our week long vacation which is devastating! I never want another family to go through the same ordeal we did.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed in a loft, two bedroom, top condominium, at a cost of $1,600 Canadian for four nights, so assumed that the unit would be in great shape. But we soon discovered garbage under the pull-out sofa bed; what appeared to be spots of blood on the upstairs bathroom wall and on the duvet for the downstairs bed; a stained (brown) bathroom towel; and tar on the kitchen floor. After being told about free local calls, we also realized that the downstairs and upstairs phones did not work, and that there was no telephone directory in the unit, to find addresses or numbers of restaurants, local venues, etc. When we informed the office, the only action taken was to provide a spare telephone directory, and to fix the upstairs phone (the main floor phone remained broken, and there was no housekeeping service provided, although we had to comply with strict rules about cleaning the unit upon departure to avoid any fee). For the amount paid, I think we will look elsewhere for our next visit to Kelowna, such as the Manteo Resort, which was across the road and located on the lakeshore.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton BC Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The room and view were fantastic and I loved the location. One of the best restraurants was down stairs and the Eldorado Bar and Grill across the street. 2 public beaches just steps away. Had a nice coffee shop down stairs also and they opened at 6:30 which was neat. The staff could not have been more helpful and Graham and Amanda were very helpful in showing us around. I have stayed over in Kelowna many times but have never had this luxury before. Very safe and well maintained. I rate it a 5 star. Dean, Terry, Jason and Dallas loved it.

Room Tip: Talk to Graham and be nice. He's a great guy and knows his stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We had a great unit belonging to a private owner and it was fantastic. The problem is with the building itself. Access moving in and out is extremely inconvienient so if you travel just bring what you need excess is difficult to move in and out. The main entrance only services part of the building???? I would consider this an adult building however our family had fun. The park is close buy and Kelowna H2O center is near by as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

The resort was more than we expected,Graham told us we would be happy and we were.Every part of the resort was clean,the pool and hot tub were great.Underground parking,full time security,coffe shop,veiws of the lake and overlooking the pool area from room 641 made it perfect.Internet ,w/d,bbq,air con,granite countertops what more do you need on a holiday.We will go there agian and so should you.Call Graham and he will take care of you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Stayed at Playa Del Sol for one month. One Bedroom + Den had kitchen w/appliances, dining, living room, master bedroom, one bath, den, deck, bbq, washer/dryer, internet access, 3 TVs, underground parking. Kitchen well equipped for 6 people. Dining/bar seating for 9. Very spacious pool & deck area on third floor above street level. Arrangements were handled very smoothly by Liz @ Okanagan Vacation Rental Management (ovrm.ca). Prompt communication answered any questions.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa del Sol

Address: 654 Cook Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3G7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa del Sol is a 4* Luxury Condominium Resort in the heart of the breathtaking Okanagan Valley. Cool off in the 3rd level swimming pool, warm up in the hot tub, pamper yourself in the Spa, tone-up in our fitness facility, or de-stress in the steam room. You can barbeque by the pool or indulge yourself at the Resort’s tantalizing Cabana Bar & Grille. Enjoy steaming lattes at the Coffee Shop. Whether you want to play or relax, Playa Del Sol has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Playa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Del Sol Hotel Kelowna
Playa Del Sol Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.